Loading

12.1 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 20 x 30 inches. This is plenty of sharp resolution to capture the finest details, crop creatively and produce incredible enlargements.

Huge, Bright 3.0-inch Vari-Angle High-Resolution LCD and Electronic Viewfinder makes it easy to compose and share your pictures with family and friends. The vari-angle LCD will tilt and rotate out on a 90-degree angle enabling you to get those high-angle and low-angle shots. The incorporation of the high-resolution electronic viewfinder enables you to see through the lens in any type of lighting condition. No more missed opportunities because the light is too bright to compose your picture!

4-Way VR Image Stabilization:

  • Nikon’s Optical VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake by moving the image sensor. This produces clearer, sharper results in lower lighting or unsteady conditions.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts the shutter speed and the ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement.
  • High ISO 6400 capability gives you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects. This creates new opportunities to take sharper, more natural-looking photos in lower light conditions. ISO 3200 and 6400 are available at 3MP or lower resolution.
  • Nikon’s original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and then saves the sharpest image.

New Sports Continuous Scene Mode for shooting at up to 15fps, up to 45 frames, when you set the resolution to 3MP or lower. These high-speed capture settings help you stay ahead of the action. Whether it is a swift golf or baseball swing, or the fast action on the soccer field, at 15fps you will capture that action.

Amazing 24x Optical Wide-Angle (26-624mm) Zoom-NIKKOR ED Glass Lens - quality optics provide exceptional images. The lens is built on a proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that deliver superb color and razor-sharp results. This amazing lens offers unbeatable compositional freedom with its wide-angle (26mm) to super telephoto coverage (624mm). Sweeping landscapes can be captured as well as zoomed-in close-ups of the action taking place on the baseball or soccer field!

New EXPEED image processor ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness. Nikon’s comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development. EXPEED is custom-tuned for COOLPIX and applied optimized technologies render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you will not miss that special moment.

Program, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority and Manual Exposure Modes give you ultimate control over your pictures. The D-SLR-type mode dial on the top of the camera provides quick access to greater personal and creative control. Now, you can adjust the camera’s settings for any type of light conditions and get as creative as you want!

Nikon’s Smart Portrait System:

  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
  • Face-Priority AF is Nikon’s face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces in a group portrait.
  • Smile Mode automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles. The camera will detect the subject's smile and automatically fire the shutter.
  • Blink Warning displays a warning message should the camera detect your subject has blinked.
  • D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.
COOLPIX P90 4.2 5 101 102
Nikon is far above great with great reputation! I did not settle for just any digital camera. I had not even bought my first one yet..until this last year. The beginning fad began and I knew Nikon would be ahead. I still have my 35mm Nikon..which is great. I chose and love my CoolPix P90..the 12.1mpx and 24x zoom is just the beginning. They have made this a super functional digital camera. Video mode, super action mode..I catch hummingbirds frame by frame! Nikon's extremely sturdy quality of design. I don't think it is HD recording..but with it's quality, you cannot make images any better with HD than what the P90 can give..unless you actually experience it. I saw the D90..but the P90 does so much more than I expected..and I am not a professional photographer..but this camera can perform far more than most brands can. It is compact, easy to use, nice lithium battery life..recharges fast. It is so much camera..once you really get to know the settings, even learn the option for aperture settings..the P90 pictures are simply beautiful and stunning. Cost of camera surprisingly reasonable..for all that this camera does and can do! I am glad I did not get just any first digital compact camera when they hit the markets..I got the perfect Nikon P90..just what I wanted and far beyond what I expected for all it can do. July 23, 2010
Just Perfect For the people who love photography... Use: Personal, Landscape, In house, Natural, Sports PERFECT for all purposes :) July 23, 2010
Great little camera loaded with great features I also own a Nikon F2 and Nikon F3 and I decided to buy a compact Digital camera. I purchased a CoolPix P80 that got stolen last year. I replaced it with the P90 and so far the camera is prefect. I love the powerfull zoom that gives me a lot of flexibility. The pictures are very sharp thanks to the wonderfull Nikon lenses. I will probably buy a digital SLR soon and for sure it will be a Nikon product. July 23, 2010
most fun for any money I have never had so much fun with a product. It inspired me to investigate much more expensive cameras but they were all far more complex to use and expensive even while they did not have the close up or the magnification range of the P90. Most importantly, the more expensive cameras exceeded the resolution capability of my imac computer screen; so since I rarely make prints, the higher resolution would be wasted on my computer. The video mode is dead simple and amazingly effective in difficult light conditions, plus the audio is entirely clear; truly fun and impressive. July 23, 2010
I Love this Camera! I bought this camera last year (summer of '09) to take on a 10-day trip to the Grand Canyon, Monument Valley, Glen Canyon, etc., instead of my main baby, my D-80, because the D-80 is a little heavy and I knew hiking in the heat would require as light a camera as possible. My husband and son also took a couple other point and shoots to supplement. This P-90 is awesome! The zoom range is fantastic--even the digital zoom is super. Low light? Very low light pictures were no problem and didn't require any special attention. The P-90's only problem is that it does seriously eat batteries. So, I bought several extra batteries (which aren't that expensive) and just popped in a fresh one whenever it was needed. I have two chargers and recharged spent batteries easily during the evening and night at the hotel. Bottom line: Even though the P-90 requires frequent fresh batteries, I love this camera and am taking it again on this summer's Southwest trip. July 23, 2010
work horse I use this camera for work and it replaced a coolpix L3. It has an excellant macro zoom and flash options. The battery life is outstanding. It is much larger than the L3 but the size difference is well worth it. It is very east to use but it offers many more options. The large lcd screen offers a great review and preview of your shots. July 23, 2010
Love my Nikon, I have used it at Christmas and other events and it takes excellent pictures. July 23, 2010
A real winner - it does it ALL I have own three SLR Nikons and this is my third Nikon Digital. It is by far the best. Easy to use and extremely versatile. One camera can take closeups of tiny insects and closeups of a humming bird in flight 100 feet away. I fell in love with the P90 when I printerd out the humming bird picture and the only thing fuzzy was the tip of it's wings. This camera is so small and light you can shot all day in comfort. I only wish it had a lens hood and lens filters. July 23, 2010
Great camera Light,compact, awsome lens and beautiful pictures.My family and I have been using this camera for 4 months now almost every day. My 3 teenagers have mastered the many modes and settings with ease and the quality of the pictures are excellent. The 24X lens and 12 megapixels are awesome for a camera in this price range.Hd video and a remote shutter would have been icing on the cake. July 23, 2010
A wonderful camera I love the Nikon Coolpix P90. Bought it basically for the 24X zoom capabilities and the flexible viewer. Takes great and really sharp close ups and is very good in low light situations. It has more capabilities than I will probably ever use and have to get the manual out a lot to remind myself how to do some things. Being 72 has a lot to do with that. Instead of hiring a photographer for our church directory, this year, they asked me to take the pics with my Nikon P90 as the pastor was impressed with the sharp photos. I didn't even have to use the flash, just set it on my tripod, hung a blue sheet on the wall for background and told them to 'line up'. They came out great and it didn't cost the church a cent. GET ONE OF THESE........you will love it. July 23, 2010
This Is Fantastic!! I bought this camera about 6 months ago. And I have to say, it is by far the BEST camera I've ever owned. 24x zoom lets me capture anything near or far. Never a blurry picture, its great! July 23, 2010
I got P90 for my birthday in 2009. I love to take my camera everywhere with me. It's light, compact and has all the necessary features for any starting photographer. Just take some time, read the manual and discover what the camera can do and it will surprise you with great quality pictures. I got same camera for my friend, she loves it too! Thank you, Nikon! July 23, 2010
Fantastic small camera I am so thrilled with this camera. I have taken some fantastic closeups of birds. Not only that, I have also taken taken some outstanding macro photographs of butterflies. I keep it handy for taking backyard pictures and it goes with me on all my daily walks. July 23, 2010
What a Camera!!!!!!!!!!!!! I bought this as a hobby camera, but it has turned into an obsession! This camera is easy to use and the pictures it take are beautiful! The ease of operation is amazing, and it does take award winning photos!!!!!!!!!!!! July 23, 2010
Alas Must have been good..Was stolen in Key West two months after I got it. Really liked it until then. July 23, 2010
Best I've Seen I have had my P90 since Sept '09. Initially, I was enthusiastic about the write-ups from others and felt I would give this one a try. I hauled this camera all over Europe for nearly a month and it became my mainstay for picture taking. It's light, easy to use, focuses quickly, and the results met my expectations. I would definitely recommend this camera to anyone who does not want to carry an overweight SLRs. This camera now sits on my mantel, ready to be grabbed and to start shooting at a moments notice. After the Europe trip, I bought one for my son for Christmas. He too, loves it. July 23, 2010
A year and still going strong! I bought this camera a year ago (August 2009) because I was going to study abroad in Africa and wanted a camera that I could learn about and that would also take good picture from the get-go. Throughout the year I've taken time here and there to learn about the different camera functions and I've come to the conclusion that I have no idea why beginners would buy a DSLR when this camera is almost the exact same as a DSLR (except without removable lenses). The features are amazing and the pictures are wonderful, even on auto. The only thing I wish I did have was manual zoom, because I like the feeling of zooming in and out with my hand. I've been happy with this camera and would definitely buy it again. I've found no reason to buy a DSLR over this bridge camera. July 23, 2010
Love this camera This is a easy to use camera with great features. I lost a P90 due to an overturned canoe and went back to using my P80. What a difference, could not wait to get another P90 with macro capabilities and movable view screen. A really great camera!!! July 23, 2010
A perfect camera! I wanted a camera with more zoom but without loosing the sharpness and extras that I wanted. The Coolpix P90 is the perfect blend. I get zoom, I get great features, and great pictures. I also get to play with a few DSLR features to prepare for buying a DSLR camera. I love this camera. I'd highly recommend it to one and all. July 23, 2010
Sharp and Compact I bought this in Oct. 2009. So far I have left my Minolta X-700 at home and found that this is comparable in 95 per cent of situations. The 24x zoom shoots the full moon ( in daytime ) with the equivelent of a 600mm on a 35mm camera.The 10 second delay is a good feature. The pop-up flash is a good feature. Use rechargeable batteries and carry a spare memory stick for using on video only. The 5 per cent is on things like off camera lighting, setting shutter speeds and apertures manually, and getting used to how to use this properly. July 21, 2010
great things on small packege Nikon film cameras a great digital like nikon p90 the long distance soom is not that great not sharp but I can lieave with it July 9, 2013
Good Product I love the P90 CoolPix that we bought. It is practical and offers many advantages. I have used SLR equipment and this is a great camera to take around without the bulk of lenses, filter and other gadgets, for simple photography... it is definitely an amazing buy! I get lots of compliments on the work produced just as well as on a higher resolution more professional equipment I have used. Really happy. December 28, 2010
Amazing, outdoor and sporty! I recieved this camera for my birthday after researching others, and i LOVE it!!! I take it to sports events and the photos come out amazing, clear and in focus. Superb outdoors, lacks a little when it comes to indoor pictures, but if you read the manual then it can easily be adjusted. Love the zoom photos turn out clear doesn't matter if you are close up or across the field. Very user friendly! December 19, 2010
Good for a beginner. I've had this camera for over a year. Overall pretty good camera. The main problem is the grain. LOTS OF GRAIN/NOISE. I shoot Manual, but I never shoot above ISO 200. Simply because you just can't. Other than that it's fine. But that's a pretty big problem in my opinion. The focusing is decent. Not the best but, the camera will get very good macro if you hold it steady and let it focus for multiple seconds. Which is a drag. The zoom. It's amazing. Best thing about the camera, hands down.I only plan on keeping this camera until around December-January when I upgrade to a DSLR. I really hope they come out with the *rumored* newD90 before than! If you look at the example pictures, You can tell the camera get pretty good color. August 26, 2010
Great camera ! I've had this camera about 8 months now and find it to have some great qualities. For an above line point and shoot the zoom is great but needs to be held very steady at full zoom. One of the most disappointing features is with indoor shots using the flash. When comparing shots with other less expensive cameras the Nikon P90 seems to fall considerably behind in photo quality and color. August 23, 2010
where is the case? I haven't used this camera a lot yet. I need to read the manual to figure the whole thing out. But so far even just playing around with it I have taken some great photos. My only question is what are people using for a case/cover? I just want something simple to cover it when I am not using it. Something where I can still carry it around my neck. Am I crazy? I only have seen a major bulky rectangular case for it. Help anyone? August 16, 2010
Perfect choice I bought this camera last year before our dream trip to Alaska. I figured I needed the best zoom possible because not all animals would be close to the road or trail. I was right and the 24X zoom proved invaluable. We took over 700 pictures and at least 80% were keepers and 25% were WOW. Plan to attend a Nikon school to get the WOW percentage up. August 7, 2010
Excellent camera I received this camera as christmas present which I requested. With 2 grand kids on the way I wanted one that would take great pics. At christmas pictures were great. 1st grand child same great pictures. 2nd grand child the pictures were grainy. Not sure what mode I was in but could not get the pictures right. Still working with it, so many modes it gets confusing. My one grief is the battery charger with the cord. Nikon should have taken a lesson from Panasonic. My wifes compact camera has a charger that you slip the battery in and plug in a wall outlet, no cord August 2, 2010
Love the camera I have no problems with the camera. It has taken great pictures including using the zoom lens. My only disappointment is that I cannot switch from color to b&w pictures like I could with my other camera. Instead I have to download it on the computer & then change it to b&w. July 27, 2010
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
33 Questions | 33 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
33 Questions | 33 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

getting lens error message

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Nancy
St. Louis, MO
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
if lens cap is attached turn the camera off, remove the lens cap and turn the camera on. The lens cap was not on when the I turned the camera on.
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Nancy
St. Louis, MO
Location : 
St. Louis, MO
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for troubleshooting for lens error:

Answer Title: Lens Error message
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

malfunction of mode dial ?

May 7, 2011 by
by
Alex
the UK
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Dear Sir/Madam
first few month I enjoyed my Nikon P90, than something happened to the mode dial wheel , when I turn to mode S, A or M, I am not able to fix for example exposure or aperture level at the needed level, for example if I need exposure lets say 1/60 , when I turn command dial wheel it does not fix or does not increase or decrease exposure number gradually the number goes towards 8" all the time

please advise me
kind regards
Alex
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Alex
the UK
Location : 
the UK
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

When turned on, no image on lcd screen or threw eye piece?... Coolpix P90-24x zoom

May 17, 2011 by
by
Mike
New Jersey
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Mike
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

Where can I get the Software Suite for COOLPIX P90

May 19, 2011 by
by
CARLOS E
MEXICO
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
CARLOS E
MEXICO
Location : 
MEXICO
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please download from our website the latest version of ViewNX 2 in order to transfer the pictures from your camera to your pc plus other cool features. See link below:
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 19, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

take a picture cant review it, no image data found

May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
frrederick, md
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
when i take a picture and i go to review it from the memory card it says " file contains no image data " i take the memory card out put it in another camera and it shows the other pictures on the memory card but no picture that i just took with the nikon coolpix p90 why ? it is the same memory card that has worked in this camera before. I took a brand new memory card and still no pictures. what is wrng with this camera ? This camera has never took a perfect picture why ? i take a picture with this camera and then with and pld camera and the old caeras picture is better why ?
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
frrederick, md
Location : 
frrederick, md
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

I’m having focusing issues; the camera makes a noise when turned on and it has shadows in the top of the camera lenses.

Jun 14, 2011 by
by
Gregg
Alabama
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Gregg
Alabama
Location : 
Alabama
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Please reset the camera to default settings: Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All
Jun 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

my scan disc says memory card is write protected--how do I turn that off?

Jun 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Push the little tab down on the side of the card to take write protection off.
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

How do I turn the sound off when recording a video? I want to record a silent video.

Jun 23, 2011 by
by
Mike
Long Island
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Mike
Long Island
Location : 
Long Island
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Only when you have selected the Time-Lapse Movie option is that no sound will be recorded. Please see page # 82 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX P90.
Jun 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

How do I get Windows 7 to recognize my p90?

Aug 18, 2011 by
by
starrider
Kansas
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My Windows XP machine has no problems recognizing the P90, but I cannot get the Windows 7 PC to recognize it. It doesn't find any drivers. Where do I get the drivers and software?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
starrider
Kansas
Location : 
Kansas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please install the latest version for View NX 2 in your computer that will allow you to download the photos.
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 19, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

P-90 Camera How to charge battery on pc

Aug 20, 2011 by
by
bill
st thomas VI
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I pluged in to PC with USB and it is not charging.
I am on vacation and have no charger
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
bill
st thomas VI
Location : 
st thomas VI
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D90 cannot be charger through a USB connected to a computer. You need the battery charger.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers