Loading

12.1 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 20 x 30 inches. This is plenty of sharp resolution to capture the finest details, crop creatively and produce incredible enlargements.

Huge, Bright 3.0-inch Vari-Angle High-Resolution LCD and Electronic Viewfinder makes it easy to compose and share your pictures with family and friends. The vari-angle LCD will tilt and rotate out on a 90-degree angle enabling you to get those high-angle and low-angle shots. The incorporation of the high-resolution electronic viewfinder enables you to see through the lens in any type of lighting condition. No more missed opportunities because the light is too bright to compose your picture!

4-Way VR Image Stabilization:

  • Nikon’s Optical VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake by moving the image sensor. This produces clearer, sharper results in lower lighting or unsteady conditions.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts the shutter speed and the ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement.
  • High ISO 6400 capability gives you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects. This creates new opportunities to take sharper, more natural-looking photos in lower light conditions. ISO 3200 and 6400 are available at 3MP or lower resolution.
  • Nikon’s original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and then saves the sharpest image.

New Sports Continuous Scene Mode for shooting at up to 15fps, up to 45 frames, when you set the resolution to 3MP or lower. These high-speed capture settings help you stay ahead of the action. Whether it is a swift golf or baseball swing, or the fast action on the soccer field, at 15fps you will capture that action.

Amazing 24x Optical Wide-Angle (26-624mm) Zoom-NIKKOR ED Glass Lens - quality optics provide exceptional images. The lens is built on a proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that deliver superb color and razor-sharp results. This amazing lens offers unbeatable compositional freedom with its wide-angle (26mm) to super telephoto coverage (624mm). Sweeping landscapes can be captured as well as zoomed-in close-ups of the action taking place on the baseball or soccer field!

New EXPEED image processor ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness. Nikon’s comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development. EXPEED is custom-tuned for COOLPIX and applied optimized technologies render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you will not miss that special moment.

Program, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority and Manual Exposure Modes give you ultimate control over your pictures. The D-SLR-type mode dial on the top of the camera provides quick access to greater personal and creative control. Now, you can adjust the camera’s settings for any type of light conditions and get as creative as you want!

Nikon’s Smart Portrait System:

  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
  • Face-Priority AF is Nikon’s face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces in a group portrait.
  • Smile Mode automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles. The camera will detect the subject's smile and automatically fire the shutter.
  • Blink Warning displays a warning message should the camera detect your subject has blinked.
  • D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.
COOLPIX P90 4.2 5 101 102
National Winning Camera!! This camera is just down right amazing!! It takes amazing time lapse action pictures with taking at least 20 a second! My pictures that I have taken with this camera have won multiple contests around the state and nation! This camera takes better pictures than cameras worth thousands of dollars that professional photographers have, I am a teenager and this camera is perfect! November 27, 2010
outstanding camera i had a nikon coolpix p90......wow!!!!! what a camera it is...... i'm a proud holder of this camera. this is one of the finest camera i've ever scene...... August 10, 2010
This is the best camera I have ever used. This is the best camera I have ever used. I love it. It is great and easy. I have let others "use" it while I am close by, they love it as well. I do not want it out of my site because it is the best thing ever. It is easy to use, has a fantastic zoom, about a mile can look like the back of your hand. If you are looking for a new camera, CONSIDER THIS ONE. August 8, 2010
Great Camera I've had this camera for over a year and it is a great camera. The only problem with the camera is the shutter lag. It's brutal, for me at least. It drives me nuts. Except for that it's typical Nikon quality. I wouldn't buy any other brand. One of these days I'm going to buy my D300S. August 3, 2010
Great features for a good price. The P90 has a lot of features found on the higher end cameras. I use it for nature photography and I couldn't ask for a better camera for the price. August 2, 2010
Powerful lens I bought this camera for my school trip to germany, and it was a wonderful camera to have. I got the best pictures of things far away with great detail. Sometime I get frustrated because some pictures can turn out almost like pixelated from poor lighting. Action shots can sometimes be like that, but I really love the 15 frames per second. July 31, 2010
Love this Camera..... I never spent this much money on a camera so before I bought I researched, compared and read everythinbg I could find. I finally decided to buy and it was the best purchace I have made in years. This camera will do just about anything you want a camera to do. I have had great results taking photos by experimenting and following the manual. I never thought I could take such beautifully detailed pictures. July 29, 2010
This is the first digital I've bought since I was still using film. All I can say is that I love, love it! The zoom is great and I love the sports mod when I go to hockey and baseball games. Can't wait to see the kind of photos I take with it in China. Thanks again for bringing digital in my life. July 27, 2010
great features, is easy, my favorite camera This is my favorite camera of all time! It takes great photos. It has a great zoom lens, view finder, many different applications and programs. It is lightweight and fairly compact with its own case. It goes beyond the pocket camera but it not as cumbersome and technically overwhelming as the SLR. It is a wonderful "hybrid". I cannot say enough wonderful things about it. July 26, 2010
A lot of camera in a small and light package! Between the nice range of zoom and the size and the weight of this camera, I find myself using this one much more that I expected to. I have a N90 and a D90 and this little guy performs like a SLR without all of the hassels of a larger camera. July 26, 2010
GREAT!!!!!!!!!!! I used this camera along with my D80 and S630.Fast auto focus and love being able to change the time zone and date.I carried it in my cargo pocket while mission and the S630 in breast pocket.Its easy to use with one hand.just wish the battery lasted longer. July 26, 2010
Excellent small camera For it's size, the picture quality and sharpness is outstanding! I love the telephoto closeups--no distorstortion and the anti vib is great. The selectable display between viewfinder or screen is quite handy on bright days. July 25, 2010
Love this camera I like the mega pixels and the zoom. The pictures are great. I only wish this camera would have had the HD video like the new P100, without compromising mega pixels and zoom. July 25, 2010
Almost perfect Camera The only negative thing I have is this camera tends to over expose a little on bright days. Easy to cure if you remember to adjust your EV. The Optical zoom is very good (and fast), excellent focusing, very good and easy closeups. Digital zooms on any camera do not produce good quality pictures and I don't use the digital zoom at all. I have used Nikon since the old 35mm days, and this camera does not disappoint. My favorite subjects are animals July 24, 2010
Light weight and no hassel travel. I have waited for a light weight backup for my D300 for sometime. Once reading photog magazine review on preformance and photo quality, I test one in store. Finally decided to buy. It has been a great travel addition. The zoom capability has given me more freedom to shot from the vehicle when the need arises. Animals and plants appear along backroads, and there is no time to setup or pull off. This camera has allowed me to get the shot framed and taken quickly. The vibration reduction helps when the engine is still running [when turkey are beside the road edge and I'm slowing down as I pass them]. The ability to has view finder, and back screen make getting the shot even easier; the tilt back screen is wonderfull for ground level shots and focusing. I do wish it shot JGP and RAW. July 24, 2010
excellent camera - far superior to point and shoot i enjoy all the exposure modes for creative control, focus range, vari-angle TFT-LCD monitor, EXPEED image processor, optical VR image stabilization - any many other features. the battery life is much longer than my earlier NIKON digital camera model. amazing movie modes - i have no complaints about this camera July 24, 2010
Great zoom for a point and shoot. When I don't feel like carrying a heavy SLR with a 300mm, I grab this camera and get great shots all the time. Always in focus. Lots of great features. My only complaint about this camera is the manual focus. Rarely need to use it though. Overall, this is the best point and shoot camera I've ever owned. July 24, 2010
Grate Pictures. Even got the FULL MOON on night. Great Camera... takes out clean pictures. Prints are perfect. July 24, 2010
liked it Took a while before I started to shame the pros in our camera club. And I did! Some laughed aloud. "It's only got one lens!". Macro and Super Macro revealed the smallest details in larger- than-life prints! Landscapes became giant panaramas. It allows you to unleash creativity in your composition and exposure. What more could you ask for? July 24, 2010
Overall Great Camera I love this camera, especially the zoom and wide angle. I sometimes have to focus several times on the full zoom before I can get a clear shot but when I do the photos come out very sharp. The only thing I don't like is that the monitor does not show the true colors--it's usually more yellow than the actual picture. The pictures, however, come out great. I love the sports mode and have taken pictures of the Williams sisters serving and can watch it in slow motion. July 24, 2010
Fantastic Camera, Absolutely Love It! I've always trusted the Nikon name after having two film cameras that were Nikon in the 80s and 90s. However, the P90, which I purchased in November of 2009 has been my favorite camera practically that I've ever owned. I take it everywhere with me, it is so small and light, yet does so much. There are some features that I absolutely cannot live without now that I've been spoiled by this camera. It is hard to say which feature is my absolute favorite, but here are the highlights anyway: Scene Mode - This is just amazing how I can pick out a different mode with practically no messing around. If I am shooting a sunset I pick Sunset and off I go. This menu of scenes to choose from is great, and I wish someone had thought of this sooner! The HUGE digital zoom built into a small camera. I can't believe the latitude this thing has, just amazing. Put it on a tripod, or don't! I can hand hold pretty well, and I've shot some long distance shots that are truly amazing. This zoom lens is a must have. Once you have counted nose hairs on a grasshopper you can never go back... The GIANT display on the back of the camera. Wow, this made my Sony camera's viewing screen look like the head of a pin. I can see without my glasses on this Nikon display, and it really has made so much difference in how I frame and shoot some subjects... The Time Lapse Movie feature. This is so fun. You can set up the camera on a tripod and have it fire off a shot every 30 seconds or so and then play it all back like a National Geographic study of a flower opening up in less than a minute instead of over a 24 hour period. I have to admit this is really something I never thought I would use. However, clouds and the setting sun changed all that. I love this feature! Anyway, I could go on and on, but truly this camera is a life-changer in some ways, and I never leave home without it. July 24, 2010
Great Camera I purchased this camera back in January 2010 and have loved it ever since. The features are very easy to understand and I especially enjoy being able to shoot in Aperture Mode (A), while letting the camera control the shutter. I have taken hundreds of pictures and like the results I get. I also have a DSLR by Nikon, but use the Coolpix P90 mostly when I want to take pictures and not be bothered with switching out the lens. I also like the built-in zoom features and the telephoto lens that this camera is equipped with. I would recommend this camera to anyone looking for a good compact point-and-shoot that provides most of the features of a DSLR, without the DSLR price. July 23, 2010
Easy to use The coolpix P-90 is the best and easiest to use camera I have ever use, It is very hard to take a bad picture. Too far away? just zoom in an count the freckles on your grandkids nose. And the rapid fire pictures are unbelievable! I gave my sony to my son this (P-90) is the only one fore me. July 23, 2010
The moveable screne is greate and sharp. This camera dose great for the experienced user and the first timer. It's wide range of fuctions make it great for all types of pictures. The moveable screne is a very handy feature. July 23, 2010
Terrific camera Having transitioned from 35mm, I found this to be more than I'd hoped for. It has features I probably will never use (except when I'm experimenting) and takes great printable pictures. I do have to refer to the manual occasionally, but I'd expect that with so many features. The digital zoom pictures came out fuzzy, but I quickly learned to brace against a stable surface to remedy that. As an aside, my father in law was looking to upgrade while I was shopping for a digital camera, and when I told him the store only had five left (because I bought the sixth one), he called me back about two hours later to tell me they only had four left. So there's two of these in the family, and we're both extremely happy with our choices. July 23, 2010
It´s easy to use, excellent pictures... I recommend this camera. July 23, 2010
P90 Love the camera. Has all the features that I need. Easy to use. July 23, 2010
Awesome Camera This is the most awesome and easiest camera I have ever used! I have bad knees and am short so the flip LCD screen saves me from hurting myself. Also the zoom feature really brings in your photo op so much closer. Takes wonderful closeup flowers amazingly July 23, 2010
Hurry, get this camera now!! I bought this camera as a replacement. I wanted to take good pictures without having to lug around a host of camera equipment (which I was used to doing). This camera is great and I am more than happy using it. You don't have to be a pro to take good pictures!! Closeups are well focused, as are all other shots. There is almost no camera shake. Learn to use the flip-out LCD screen and you're pictures will look as if you hired a pro. The color is great and you don't need Photshop to correct it. I'm a happy camper using my NIKON camera. July 23, 2010
Good All-Around Camera Have had my P90 for 1.5 years now and would recommend it for every function except for the zoom feature. Easy to use, wonderful results almost every time. Would definitely recommend for anyone who wants a better photo and more control than what the point and shoots will allow. While the zoom feature is a bit of a disappointment, all other features of this Nikon make up for it. July 23, 2010
Page:2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
32 Questions | 32 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
32 Questions | 32 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

getting lens error message

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Nancy
St. Louis, MO
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
if lens cap is attached turn the camera off, remove the lens cap and turn the camera on. The lens cap was not on when the I turned the camera on.
3 years ago
by
Nancy
St. Louis, MO
Location : 
St. Louis, MO
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for troubleshooting for lens error:

Answer Title: Lens Error message
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

malfunction of mode dial ?

May 7, 2011 by
by
Alex
the UK
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Dear Sir/Madam
first few month I enjoyed my Nikon P90, than something happened to the mode dial wheel , when I turn to mode S, A or M, I am not able to fix for example exposure or aperture level at the needed level, for example if I need exposure lets say 1/60 , when I turn command dial wheel it does not fix or does not increase or decrease exposure number gradually the number goes towards 8" all the time

please advise me
kind regards
Alex
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Alex
the UK
Location : 
the UK
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

When turned on, no image on lcd screen or threw eye piece?... Coolpix P90-24x zoom

May 17, 2011 by
by
Mike
New Jersey
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Mike
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

Where can I get the Software Suite for COOLPIX P90

May 19, 2011 by
by
CARLOS E
MEXICO
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
CARLOS E
MEXICO
Location : 
MEXICO
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please download from our website the latest version of ViewNX 2 in order to transfer the pictures from your camera to your pc plus other cool features. See link below:
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 19, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

take a picture cant review it, no image data found

May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
frrederick, md
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
when i take a picture and i go to review it from the memory card it says " file contains no image data " i take the memory card out put it in another camera and it shows the other pictures on the memory card but no picture that i just took with the nikon coolpix p90 why ? it is the same memory card that has worked in this camera before. I took a brand new memory card and still no pictures. what is wrng with this camera ? This camera has never took a perfect picture why ? i take a picture with this camera and then with and pld camera and the old caeras picture is better why ?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
frrederick, md
Location : 
frrederick, md
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

I’m having focusing issues; the camera makes a noise when turned on and it has shadows in the top of the camera lenses.

Jun 14, 2011 by
by
Gregg
Alabama
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Gregg
Alabama
Location : 
Alabama
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please reset the camera to default settings: Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All
Jun 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

my scan disc says memory card is write protected--how do I turn that off?

Jun 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Push the little tab down on the side of the card to take write protection off.
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

How do I turn the sound off when recording a video? I want to record a silent video.

Jun 23, 2011 by
by
Mike
Long Island
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Mike
Long Island
Location : 
Long Island
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Only when you have selected the Time-Lapse Movie option is that no sound will be recorded. Please see page # 82 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX P90.
Jun 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

How do I get Windows 7 to recognize my p90?

Aug 18, 2011 by
by
starrider
Kansas
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My Windows XP machine has no problems recognizing the P90, but I cannot get the Windows 7 PC to recognize it. It doesn't find any drivers. Where do I get the drivers and software?
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
starrider
Kansas
Location : 
Kansas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please install the latest version for View NX 2 in your computer that will allow you to download the photos.
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 19, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

P-90 Camera How to charge battery on pc

Aug 20, 2011 by
by
bill
st thomas VI
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I pluged in to PC with USB and it is not charging.
I am on vacation and have no charger
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
bill
st thomas VI
Location : 
st thomas VI
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D90 cannot be charger through a USB connected to a computer. You need the battery charger.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers