Loading

10.0 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches. Plenty of sharp resolution to capture the finest details, crop creatively and produce incredible enlargements.

New EXPEED Image Processor ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness. Nikon's comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development. EXPEED is custom-tuned for COOLPIX and applies optimized technologies to render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you will not miss that special moment.

Motion Detection automatically controls the shutter speed and ISO settings to compensate for camera shake and subject movement reducing the chances of getting image blur.

Easy Auto Mode with Scene Auto Selector simplifies your picture-taking experience by letting the camera automatically select the best setting to get great pictures. Just set the camera to the Scene Auto Selector and the camera changes the settings according to the scene you are photographing, automatically.

3.6x Optical Zoom-NIKKOR Glass Lens NIKKOR optics provide exceptional pictures and gets you close to the action. The lens is built on a proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that deliver superb color and razor-sharp results.

Huge, Bright 3.0-inch High-Resolution LCD makes it easy to compose and share your pictures. In addition, the high-contrast and anti-reflection coating on the screen assist in clear viewing, even in direct sunlight.

Adjusts up to ISO 1600 to keep shooting even in lower light, making new opportunities to take sharper, more natural-looking photos.

Nikon's Smart Portrait System:
In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™
automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
Face-Priority AF  is Nikon's face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces in a group portrait.
Smile Mode automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles. The camera will detect the subject's smile and automatically fire the shutter.
Blink Warning displays a warning message should the camera detect your subject has blinked.
D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.

COOLPIX L20 3.4 5 101 101
Cost Had mine for about a year. Carry it to work every day. Good camera for price. Bought a AA charger and 4 rechargable batteries, no problems. July 23, 2010
Very satisfied For the price, I think it is a great camera. I have had no bad expirience with 'red'. In fact I recommended it to three of my friends, and two of them bought this camera and are happy with it. July 23, 2010
Nice Small Camera for Everyday Use I've had this camera for nearly a year and I really have enjoyed owning it. It takes great pictures for a smaller camera. It does it job well, however the only complaint that comes to mind is that it absolutely drains batteries. I constantly have to replace them and I hardly ever use the camera. I believe it takes most of the batteries energy when uploading pictures to the computer, etc. All in all, I like the camera. July 25, 2010
disappointed this camara takes a long time to take a picture. can't zoom or picture comes out blurry. does take some nice pics but all in all I'm disappointed July 23, 2010
A distorted review For the price, this is a decent camera. I shoot professionally and I want a "tosser" I can keep with me all the time. This is "pocket-able" but has some quirks that make it fall short of my "Nikonian Expectations." First, Nikon has much better cameras in this price range now. Second, there is lots of distortion in the lens. You can fix it with Lightroom but it's very annoying. Third, the camera exhibits different color / exposure performance between landscape and portrait formats. It's almost like there's a polarizer inside ... but more likely it's an exposure sensor issue. There are much better models available from Nikon now. So I would recommend another Nikon model to friends now. July 23, 2010
Poor flash system I would have given this camera 4 stars, but it doesn't have a compensating flash. Pictures wash out at close distance using the flash. You have to back up, re-frame picture, zoom-in to have a decent exposure using flash. Otherwise, camera takes good pictures. July 23, 2010
love the camera......but! I bought my nikon L20 2 yrs ago...thought it would be easy to use...not as easy as I thought it would be. Right now I am having problems deleting pictures. If I delete more than 2 the camera gets stuck on "done" (deleting) I have to open up the battery slot, take the batteries out, put them back in and close it in order to delete more pictures...again....can only do 2 at a time...I can delete all of the pictures if I load them on my computer and check delete after importing...don't know why....I didn't have this problem when I first bought the camera...tried to get help from the site but, wasn't. I'm not very happy at this time. July 25, 2010
didn't get much chance to use it I thought I would like this camera but after only using it a few times I turned it on one day to find the screen not working. I took it to the store and they wouldn't/couldn't do anything and they said Nikon wouldn't cover the screen and would call it impact damage. This camera had only been used a few times, was only a few months old, and had never been dropped. I was very disappointed. July 23, 2010
A good buy for a fair price! I am somewhat satisfied with my camera. Some of my pictures are not bright & clear. I wish that the camera was more stable. I also have to be careful not to use in a hot temperature and then go into airconditioned room. July 23, 2010
poor quality camera I had another Nikon before this one and it took great pictures. this camera doesn,t work all the time and it takes poor quality pictures. I use it alot to take pics at concerts and it will not take pictures at a concert that you can even tell what the pic is of. I contacted Nikon support and they said it was me that made it take poor photos. funny the other one I had took good photos. I would not recommend this camera and I think I will buy a different brand next time. July 23, 2010
Not impressed I had this camera for a few months and it worked fine, then i tried to make a video and after 11 seconds the camera stopped and shut off, i checked the batteries and memory card and i tried again and same thing. although i had 5 mins of recording based on the memory card's data. May 22, 2012
Horrible Purchase I got this camera from my parents as a gift. They actually purchased two of them one for me and the other for themselves. I had heard nothing but the best about Nikon and how wonderful their cameras are. I have had nothing but horrible luck with this camera so much so that my parent gave me the one they purchased for themselves and have had horrible luck with it also. Both the cameras says unsupported card, they shut off whenever by itself, it shorts out, and the batteries are almost always exhausted even when just replaced. I would not recommend this product and it makes me question Nikon products. February 24, 2012
2 down I have two of these cameras. Neither of which are functional. The screen stopped working on the first one, so I bought another one. The second one takes pictures, but the flash doesn't work correctly, so the lighting is all off. I thought it happened when the battery juice was getting low (because the camera EATS batteries) but I put in new ones and it does the same thing. Changing the settings doesn't help either. Can't say I recommend this camera. February 1, 2011
Buy something else! I received this camera for Christmas so it was purchased at approximately 30 days before I even received it making it impossible to return it to the store or exchange it if unsatisfied or problematic. I am very careful with my electronics and use my camera very little, around 2 months after owning the camera, the SD card failed to "click" in to place. After multiple (hundreds, it seemed) attempts, continued to fail to click in to place. Not being able to take it back to the store, I had to send it in to Nikon costing me the postage. Somewhat promptly I received the camera back with a note that read " problem could not be duplicated" and no further explanation. The SD card slot has been fine since but that isn't my only complaint. The L20 is horrible for close-ups, has a mind of its own if you need or don't want the flash. I have had to use my left index finger several times to cover the flash when I wanted to take a picture without it and taken many pictures that have needed flash and the camera did not produce one. All settings gone through, verified, with the appropriate selected. I am by no means a professional photographer but would expect this Nikon L20 to be suitable for what I would need a camera for. I was sadly mistaken and now I'm stuck with it. August 16, 2010
Busted I had this camera for exactly for one year. To begin with I wasn't all that impressed with the picture quality but for the price I was ok with it. I bought it because of a review on Macworld. Well, Macworld doesn't report how it holds up for longer than the test period. On mine, the battery lid has become loose so that it no longer snaps into place and uses battery power like crazy. Basically it just doesn't work anymore and is not worth fixing or replacing batteries that often. August 12, 2010
TROUBLE I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT TROUBLE OUT OF PRODUCT NIKON SUPPOSED TO BE GOOD PRODUCT WELL MINE ISNT WILL NEVER BUY ONE AGAIN August 6, 2010
NOT WORTH THE BUY THIS CAMERA WAS NOT A GOOD BUY FOR ME.. I MUST HAVE PURCHASED A DEFECTIVE CAMERA...BECAUSE I HAVE SENT THIS PRODUCT BACK TO NIKON TWICE..THEY HAVE TRIED TO FIX BUT VERY UNSUCCESSFUL...LOVE THERE PRODUCTS BUT I GUESS I JUST GOT A HOLD OF A BAD ARE BEAT UP ONE DURING SHIPPING...STILL HORRIBLE... July 30, 2010
worst camara!! worst camera ever!!! screen freezes up after every picture its picture quality is blurry, you have to turn camera off and on after every picture try doing that on your daughters graduation!!! July 25, 2010
Not good! I have had my camera for less than one year. It is in for repair now for the third time! July 25, 2010
WORST CAMERA EVER. I got my camera about 2 months ago and about 1 month ago it doesnt seem to work. Im very upset and now I have settled for a flip camera July 24, 2010
This Product is very disappointing I have been disappointed since I received this as a gift at Christmas. I recently took it on my vacation to Colorado and was unable to use it. The screen was white and no matter what I did, I could not get a view finder. We had to buy disposable cameras and borrow other friends' cameras. What a waste of money... July 24, 2010
Really just terrible I hate to write such a negative review about a Nikon product, I really do. Perhaps I'm biased, but as the owner of a Nikon DSLR camera, I had high expectations for this sleek, affordable little point-and-shoot as my "purse" camera to shoot the everyday moments. Well, to make this short... as long as your everyday moments are outdoors or in PERFECT indoor lighting, this is a great camera. But for birthday parties, Christmas, and everything else indoors or in poor lighting, the L20 falls very very short. As a matter of fact, I have yet to capture a low light photo worth keeping with this. July 23, 2010
Disappointing product, main problem it keeps shutting itself off at the most inopportune time even with fresh batteries, sent 1st Coolpix back to NY camera store for replacement and 2nd camera has problems. July 23, 2010
Dissappointed The screen is almost impossible to see outside, in bright light. It goes through batteries more than any camera I have owned. The flash does not always work when you want it to, with indoor shots, so you get bad color and lighting and miss important moments. I am currently shopping for another camera. July 23, 2010
Poor quality camera. The viewing screen stopped working 3-4 weeks after I purchased the Coolpix L20. The warranty doesn't cover this type of repair. July 23, 2010
Very Disappointed This camera was purchased as a first camera for my 11yo son. While it is easy to use and the pic quality is very good, we had to exchange it after just two weeks when it malfunctioned - the camera kept freezing up after 2-3 min of use. We've had the replacement for about 3 months and twice the screen has not turned on with the camera and it has frozen a few times. If I could return it I would do so, but Nikon has only offerred to look at it if I ship it to them.. not very helpful when I have a child who wants to use his new camera and Nikon says they will return it in 4-6 weeks. We do not have a good first impression of Nikon. July 23, 2010
My camera was a gift in less than 6 months the camera was sent to factory for repair, the cost to repair was going to be quite a bit more than the original cost. I was told it was not covered by guarantee, I would not recomend this product to anyone. July 23, 2010
Received the Nikon Coolpix for Christmas. In July, the screen went dead. Had to send in to Nikon for repair. July 23, 2010
Not satisfied The picture quality is good.Problem I am having is after 4 months of having this camera,the screen freezes up or just shuts off completely.I've switched and changed batteries so it's not the batteries.This camera has major malfunctions. July 23, 2010
Takes great pictures but batteries don't last. Takes great pictures, but batteries don't last. I had to change the batteries 3 or 4 times a day. It's cheaper to buy another camera than hundreds of batteries. July 23, 2010
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
40 Questions | 58 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
40 Questions | 58 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L20
 
3 Answers

Nikon Coolpix L20

Apr 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
I don't know how a few pictures somehow got "locked" onto my camera. So first I need to know how to do that and I would also like to know .......How do I unlock pictures so that I can delete off the camera?
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Those are the password protected by you only if you dont know the passowrd then please connect only memory card to computer using camera or all in one card reader and then right click of your media card and click format.
Aug 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You have set the Protect option in a few images to avoid accidental deletion. You will notice this because a little key will show in each photo.
To get this option disable you press MENU > SETUP > PROTECT (see page# 100 of the user's manual).
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
You should be able to find a menu for locking the pics somewhere in the display, it is not easy to find so may take some time. If they are stored on an SD card, the little slide button on the side of the card may be "locked.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JohnF
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX L20
 
3 Answers

Set up menu freezes

Mar 13, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
When I try to go to the Set up menu, it freezes for a while. I cannot set the date :(

Note:
Please delete the previous question, I had to repost because I forgot to check the box to recieve an email.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thank you

I took the memory card out, tried it, and it didnt freeze. After I put the card back in it didnt freeze!

It is an SD 8GB ElitePro card.
Mar 15, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The list of approved cards are in the link below.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

There could be an issue with your memory card. Try using the camera without the memory card inserted to see how it performs. If your issue persists, please contact tech support. Our contact is at support.nikonusa.com
Mar 15, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I finally got to the setup menu. I had to wait for a while until it unfroze. But why does it freeze?
Mar 14, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L20
 
2 Answers

Why does the camera say "this card canont be used", I have tried numerous different cards.

Mar 11, 2011 by
by
Dan
Ogden, UT
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Dan
Ogden, UT
Location : 
Ogden, UT
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please check wheather those cards have been write protected or not.
Aug 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that you are using an approved memory card:

Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix L20/ L19
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L20
 
2 Answers

WHEN I PUT NEW BATTERIES IN LATELY THE CAMERA WON'T START,OR I ONLY GET 1 OR 2 PICTURES?

Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
FREDERICKSBURG,VA
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
FREDERICKSBURG,VA
Location : 
FREDERICKSBURG,VA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Can you explain exact problem having with your camera? if it's not starting then it means there has some carbon particals has occupied your battery place, clean camera battery terminals very carefully and then try to use new camera batteries. if you are using old chargable batteries then might possiblities that battery has drained and out of charge. Replace batteries and check again.
Please insert memory card into your camera and then take snaps so you can get atleast more pictures.
Aug 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
To ensure that the camera shows the correct battery level and proper functionality, choose the type of batteries you are using. See page # 105 of the User's Manual of your camera.

Go to MENU > Setup > Battery Type.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
sarahh
Age: 18-24
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please cross check wheather your memory card has write protected or may be virus infected. Just try to access that card using computer and scan using license antivirus updated software and after scan completes please right click on your media card from my computer and check the properties for size of card and utilization of card to calculate free space in it.
Try another card as well to cross verify.
Please also check the default image store location, if it's deafult to camera then you shoud have to change it to memory card.
Aug 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have you formatted the card in camera before using it.
Apr 2, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L20
 
2 Answers

My Nikon L20 won't turn off. Lens won't retract back in.

Apr 12, 2011 by
by
AM
Pennsylvania
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
AM
Pennsylvania
Location : 
Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
This might cause of hardware not functioning properly. please repair the camera.
Aug 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Verify that the batteries are fully charge and you have the correct selection for battery type (page# 100 of the User's Manual). If the error persists or appears frequently you will need to send your camera for service.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L20
 
2 Answers

Giga Size SD memory Card support

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
which is the maximun SD memory card giga size capacity that my coolpix L20 can support?
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon L20 has a memory card size limit upto 4GB expandable and not more than that.
Aug 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix L20/ L19
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX L20
 
2 Answers

Is it possible to use Nikon Coolpix L20 as a webcam?

May 8, 2011 by
by
Khan
Peshawar
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Khan
Peshawar
Location : 
Peshawar
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Not possible
Aug 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Simple answer, no.
May 8, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L20
 
2 Answers

Pictures

Jun 12, 2011 by
by
jcolbert66
Kansas
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
When taking the pictures on the L20 the screen on view will have a line across it. How do I get this off the pictures.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
jcolbert66
Kansas
Location : 
Kansas
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It seems to be issue with your lense, just try to clean the lense using non alcholic liquid which are now available in markets and retry again. if issue still persisit same then repair the camera.
Aug 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send some sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L20
 
2 Answers

COOLPIX L20 LCD DISPLAY

Jun 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
MY CAMERA STILL WORKS GOOD. ONLY ITS LCD DISPLAY WAS BROKEN. SO CAN WE REPLACE THIS? WHERE CAN I ORDER THIS PART? THANK YOU.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You may have to manually go to your nearest service centre to get this repair. i belive Nikon wont deliver the parts at residence address.
Aug 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please get in contact with Nikon Parts Department
7AM - 3PM (Pacific) Monday - Friday
310-414-8107 Fax- 310-322-6979
Jun 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers