Loading

12.0 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches. This is plenty of sharp resolution to capture the finest details, crop creatively and produce incredible enlargements.

New EXPEED Image Processor ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness. Nikon’s comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development. EXPEED is custom-tuned for COOLPIX and applies optimized technologies to render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality. With the quick response made possible by EXPEED you will not miss that special moment.

Incredible, Bright 2.7-inch High Resolution LCD makes it easy to compose and share your pictures with friends and family.

New Sports Continuous Scene Mode for shooting at up to 11fps, up to 20 frames, when you set the resolution to 3MP or lower. These high-speed capture settings help you stay ahead of the action. Whether it is a swift golf or baseball swing, to the fast action on the soccer field. At 11fps, you will capture that action.

7x Optical Zoom-NIKKOR (37-260mm) Glass Lens - NIKKOR optics provide exceptional images. The lens is built on a proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that deliver superb color and razor-sharp results. This amazing compact lens offers unbeatable compositional freedom with its wide-angle (37mm) to super telephoto coverage (260mm). Sweeping landscapes can be captured as well as zoomed-in close-ups of the action taking place on the baseball or soccer field - all this from a camera that can slip right into your shirt pocket or purse!

4 Way VR Image Stabilization:

  • Nikon's Optical VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake by moving the image sensor. This produces clearer, sharper results in lower lighting or unsteady conditions.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts shutter speed and the ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement.
  • High ISO up to 6400 capability helps give you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects. This creates new opportunities to take sharper, more natural-looking photos in lower light conditions. ISO 3200 and ISO 6400 is available at 3MP or lower resolution.
  • Nikon’s original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and then saves the sharpest image.

Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene in your picture and adjusts the camera settings. Just set the camera to the Scene Auto Selector and the camera changes the settings according to the scene you are photographing, automatically!

Nikon’s Smart Portrait System:

  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
  • Enhanced Face-Priority AF is Nikon’s face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces.
  • Smile Mode automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles. The camera will detect the subject's smile and will automatically fire the shutter.
  • NEW Blink Proof enables the camera to take two pictures when the subject smiles and saves the shot in which the subject’s eyes are open.
  • D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.
COOLPIX S630 4 5 48 48
The S630 takes good pictures. The zoom feature is very fast. To fast, hard to make small changes in the zoom setting. If I had known this before purchasing, I would have looked for a different camera. August 26, 2010
This product has 2 big drawbacks. Although it takes great pictures, in bright sun you cannot see display screen, so it needs a peep-hole where you can put it to your eye to see your subject. Secondly, the zoom reacts radically to a touch. It is almost impossible to bring a focus in with small increments. It jumps in and out quickly, and is frustrating when you are trying to catch an action. By the time you in-and-out it six times to get what you want, the action/pose are gone. July 23, 2010
Pictures are dark I can't say I am thrilled with the outcome of my pictures. Often I have to edit them because they are dark. They are also not as sharp as I would like after zooming in. July 23, 2010
Disappointing Although this camera takes great pictures in outside light it's very disappointing taking inside pictures. It doesn't matter what setting it's on shooting inside pictures usually come out blurry. I'm going back to a Canon. December 8, 2010
Poor Manual & touchy zoom This users manual like most others is poorly written and jumps around without logically going step by step for a new user. The zoom also is real touchy to use. July 24, 2010
Do not make the mistake to buy it After my experience with my D70 and later my D300, I decided to buy this camera as a pocket one based on Nikon's quality and recognized brand. Big mistake! I don't know if the problem is the software (no firmware updates) or something else, but picture quality is very poor. I'm giving 2 stars review due to the zoom that is powerfool and good, otherwise I think that one star would be too much. My advice, based on my experience: buy Nikon SLR cameras and lenses, but don't waste your money with Coolpix cameras. If you look around, with $50 you can get a better camera everywhere. I'm sorry I lost my money buying this camera. July 23, 2010
I purchased this as a besides my D80 for quick grab shots on vacations & travel. I missed quite a few due to shutter lag.I also found poor performance with optical zoom.I also have a S1 which may not have as many features but I am very pleased with. July 23, 2010
Some significant trouble I found the camera reluctant to determing frame/image type, and focus correctly. Many pictures came out sub-par. I practiced with the camera for a couple of weeks but decided to return it as the picture taking functions were unreliable. July 23, 2010
Hmmm... Don't quite know what the problem is but I have not been able to get one clean focused picture out of this thing. I shoot mainly with a Canon digital SLR and wanted something small to take to parties etc for spontaneous photos but it looks as if I still need to lug the Canon. Doesn't fit very well in a hand bag:( July 23, 2010
coolpix is garbage Takes great pictures until it breaks. It broke under the extended warranty period. Did without a camera for Christmas last year. They replaced it and now a year later this one is broken. Cheap product! January 16, 2012
Blurry unsatisfactory pictures. Blurry unsatisfactory pictures. Zoom function was uncontrollable. I never expected Nikon to make such below standard camera. July 24, 2010
I've only had this camera a year & its been worked on twice. It makes a grinding noise when taking a picture & Nikon said "this is normal". Overall for a Nikon I'm very disappointed w/this camera and its overall functions and lack thereof. July 23, 2010
Fuzzy, poorly focused images I bought this as a pocket camera when my Pro Nikon F4s and DSLR d300 were too large to carry. This Nikon really does not live up to the image quality I have come to expect from the many other Nikon cameras I have had. I would not recommend this camera. July 23, 2010
Page: 2 3
<<prev
11 Questions | 12 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
11 Questions | 12 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S630
 
2 Answers

S630 max sd card size you can use

Feb 29, 2012 by
by
Alterego667
Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Nikon s630 what is the max sd card size you can use.
Manual says 16gb but other sites that list the camera say a 32gb will work as well.
So what is the max size sd card to use.
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Alterego667
Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Location : 
Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
16gb card is max... Thanks
Mar 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix S630
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 1, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S630
 
1 answer

can i charge this camera directly through my pc?

Apr 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
IN
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
IN
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Should be able to via usb cable.
Apr 11, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S630
 
1 answer

I have a Coolpix S630

May 4, 2011 by
by
Cynthia
Memphis, TN
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
How do I shoot thru a fence so I can take a picture of my son on the baseball field and not have the fence focused instead of him.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Cynthia
Memphis, TN
Location : 
Memphis, TN
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get closer to the fence in order to avoid it. Also, you can change the Focus mode to Manual so you can change the focus point, see page # 110 of the user’s manual for the COOLPIX s630.
May 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S630
 
1 answer

File Contains no Image Data

May 11, 2011 by
by
jayeAMY
Onieda, NY
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I've had my S630 for just under 2 years. Only just started having a problem when after taking a picture and I go to view it on the camera I get a 'File Contains No Image Data'. What could be the cause of this problem?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
jayeAMY
Onieda, NY
Location : 
Onieda, NY
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please format the Memory Card. Also, make sure that you're using an approved memory card.
MENU > SETUP > Format Card.
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix S630
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S630
 
1 answer

self timer feacher is available on s630?

Jun 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the COOLPIX S630 has the Self-Timer feature.
Jun 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S630
 
1 answer

I have a Coolpix S630 and shot photos, without my memory card in. How do I get the photos off the camera?

Jun 24, 2011 by
by
heisz1
United States
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
shot photos without SD card in - have cord to connect to computer (Mac OS 10.6), but can't get computer to recognize camera, did install Nikon Transfer software off website - still doesn't recognize the camera.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
heisz1
United States
Location : 
United States
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please install the latest version for View NX 2 in your computer that will allow you to download the photos. Also, to transfer the photos from the internal memory of the camera.
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S630
 
1 answer

Why does the coolpix S630 camera not appears as a "normal" USB drive when attached to my Windows XP system?

Aug 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Why does the coolpix S630 camera not appears as a "normal" USB drive when attached to my Windows XP system?
I can't drag n drop pictures to my web mail client (gmail), and the drive does not appear as a letter drive when I try to attach photos.
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S630
 
1 answer

Does this camera have a built-in interval photography feature?

Jan 20, 2012 by
by
Sam
Massachusetts
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am building a guitar for a school project (100 to 150 hours) and I want to record the project with a time lapse video of one frame every 5 minutes. Can this camera do this automatically without any additional software?
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Sam
Massachusetts
Location : 
Massachusetts
Age: 18-24
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the COOLPIX S630 has the Interval Timer Shooting that can be set for 30s, 1, 5 or 10 minutes.
Jan 20, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have had this camera for almost three years and it has just started doing this. It sound like the camera is turning on but the screen is black and I cant' take a picture. I must take the battery out and put it back in in order for the lens to retract back. My battery is fully charged, but could this mean my battery is going out for good? Help!
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Experience: More than a year
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Lithium ion batteries don't usually last three years so it could be the battery.
Mar 20, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S630
 
1 answer

How do i check the battery life

Nov 12, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No full time battery meter, in the upper right hand corner it will display a picture of a battery that tells you the battery is getting low. If a black dot with a lower case "i" is displayed that means the battery is fully discharged.
Nov 13, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers