Loading

10.0 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches. Plenty of sharp resolution to capture the finest details, crop creatively and produce incredible enlargements.

New EXPEED Image Processor ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness. Nikon’s comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development. EXPEED is custom-tuned for COOLPIX and applies optimized technologies to render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you will not miss that special moment.

4-Way VR Image Stabilization:

  • Nikon’s Electronic VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake by adjusting shutter speed and ISO setting. This produces clearer, sharper results in lower lighting or unsteady conditions.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts the shutter speed and the ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement.
  • High ISO 2000 capability gives you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects. This creates new opportunities to take sharper, more natural-looking photos in lower light conditions.
  • Nikon’s original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and then saves the sharpest image.

Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene in your picture and adjusts the camera settings. Just set the camera to the Scene Auto Selector and the camera changes the settings according to the scene you are photographing, automatically.

3x Optical Zoom-NIKKOR Glass Lens. NIKKOR optics provide exceptional pictures and gets you close to the action. The lens is built on a proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that deliver superb color and razor-sharp results.

Add Color to Your World with five new incredible colors that have been finished in a stylish and sleek brushed-aluminum finish. The S220 is available in Plum, Graphite Black, Cobalt Blue, Aqua Green, Magenta and Warm Silver.

Incredible, Bright 2.5-inch High Resolution LCD makes it easy to compose and share your pictures. In addition, the high-contrast and anti-reflection coating on the screen assist in clear viewing, even in direct sunlight

Nikon’s Smart Portrait System

  • Smile Mode automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles. The camera will detect the subject's smile and will automatically fire the shutter.
  • With Nikon's Blink Proof the camera automatically takes two shots and saves the one in which the subject’s eyes are open.
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
  • Face-Priority AF is Nikon’s face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces in a group portrait.
  • D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.
COOLPIX S220 3 5 86 87
Worthless This is the second time I have had to replace this camera. The first time I bought it, had it for about a week and it gave me a lens error. I took it back to the store, they gave me a new one. After about a year, now it is doing the same thing. I defintitely wouldn't recommend this to anyone! The picture quality has never been the best. April 27, 2011
Really Dissapointed I bought this camera for my daughter, it seemed to just get worse the more we used it. This is my 1st Nikon camera, I won't be back. It takes pictures, some look good, some don't. Taking a still picture without moving can come out bad, why I don't know and it is frustrating. January 27, 2011
Doesn't deserve be called Nikon Bought it in a trip to Hawaii. good price, but... lens error in a week. I took a ggod care of the camera, but it is unnaceptable it gets broken in less than 500 clicks. I returned it to Best Buy with the intention of exchanging it with a Canon, but I forgot one cable at the Hotel, so I only trade it for a working one. Daylight photos 0 to 10 : 4 blurry Night photos 0 to 10 :2 too grainy, bad color. The flash flashes, but seems it doesn't work. It remembers me an old Aipitek I had in night shots, but Aipiteks daylight photos were amezing comparing this Nikon. As was said in another review, you can change the settings from auto to the several cenarios , but it only get worse. My Olympus D-435 5,1Mp and my Samsung S 760 were muuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuch beter than this piece of junk. I'm just waiting the lenses break again or have money to buy another ( brand) to retire it. Shame on you Nikon!! December 16, 2010
lens error after 1 year very dissapointing my wife loved the camera I bought for her birthday and she was very happy until a relative came to visit and she wanted to capture it only to find a " lenz error message" i bought nikon so my money would be well spent - next time i will not as it didnt make a difference in this buy-to bad September 22, 2010
Lens Error After just doing 1 year with this camera i get lens error msg. and i can't take any picture. I was taking pictures with the camera, after suddenly when i was going to take more pictures i received lens error msg on the screen, what a shame for only 1 year of use, the camera doesn't work anymore. August 24, 2010
lens errors I loved this camera at first but then it started breaking with a lens error over and over. i couldnt take any pics or anything. then nikon would charge me $100 to fix it everytime when i did nothing to cause the breakage. It causes maximum frustration and 0 pictures. August 13, 2010
Sorry, not happy with this. I bought this camera for work because the size made it easy to always have on hand. However, I've never been happy with the sharpness of the photos it takes under ANY conditions, and flash photos, all taken with the automatic setting, are always grainy. I have a Canon that is a bit less convenient because of its size, but those pictures never disappoint. Nikon is a good brand; maybe I just have a lemon. August 8, 2010
len I am glad to see a lot of good reviews but my is not. A couple of mths ago I pulled out my camera and the len wouldn't open. My husband played with it and it "unstuck". Last mth, I was taking a picture turned it off but realized I wanted to take another and the lens was stuck once again. I got a hold of Nikon and they were friendly and told me to send it in. Today, almost a mth later, I got a bill stating that the lens is bent and not under warranty (I got it for Christmas it was July when it broke). Guess how much to fix it?? $108.75!!! For $20 more dollars I could get a new one!!! I am not happy about this. How can a camera dent in my hand??? Good luck if you buy one of these:( August 3, 2010
nikon camera's are the worlds worst cameras. they take bad pictures and dont even cover any warenty. if you break the camera you might as well throw it out. it is absolutly haribble. July 24, 2010
Not worth it. I wanted a smaller camera to replace my older Canon 520. I bought this on impulse because I liked the color and large LCD screen. Big mistake. Although the camera works fine outdoors, it's pretty useless inside. The flash doesn't seem to help it take clear photos inside. It also is useless when a subject moves even slightly. It's very difficult to get focused photos. I've switched back to my old Canon because it still works well. I wish I would have figured out it was junk before it was too late to return it. July 24, 2010
Broke almost immediately After a few uses the motorized lens jammed. Sent it to Nikon for repair and they refused to repair it under warranty. Might as well have thrown my money in the garbage. July 24, 2010
Terrible camera Not worth buying.Just a few short months after buying the camera, it started taking terrible pics. One pic might turn out fine, but the next one in the same place, using the same settings will be blurry and no good. Or it might be the opposite, first one bad, second one good. Makes no sense and it's frustrating. July 24, 2010
not happy with camera My husband bought me this camera as an upgrade from our previous camera (Nikkon also) . The display screen is horrible the pictures are just as bad .I went to take a picture of my kids and the lens would not open completely , so I called Nikkon and they said it was dropped and I would have to pay to have it fixed. I am very disappointed with this camera.. July 23, 2010
Not Worth the Money I got this camera as a present and within a month I had the lens error so I sent it back to Nikon who replaced it for free only because I had a copy of the warranty and receipt of proof of purchase. Now the camera is no longer recognized by my computer. There are more quality cameras for the same price as this one. July 23, 2010
UM NO! I have not even had this camera for six months and it only works sometimes. I have taken it to several places and tried to take pictures with it, many of them turn out fuzzy, thank goodness I have a backup. The screen keeps displaying a lens error message, and to fix it I have to send it back. I will never buy another coolpix camera. July 23, 2010
Needs work on the screen We've had the camera for about a year and now the LCD screen doesn't work at all. We can't see anything that we're taking pictures of or choose any options. The camera still works because we can download the pictures to our computer and have them printed, but the pictures aren't any good because we can't see what we're aiming at. July 23, 2010
Hated this camera We had to return it the first time for a lens problem which was within the 90 days. 8 months later we had another lens error problem and by the time we finally got around to contacting Nikon we were 6 days over the warranty date so we will have to pay for it to be shipped to Nikon and to be fixed. We landed up buying a Canon from Target instead of hassling with Nikon again. And we have 2 other friends who bought the 'great Costco deal" and have had similar problems with their cameras. July 23, 2010
GARBAGE Junk! four months old and the lens error message comes up and lens wont close. Apparently this is a desing flaw as many others seem to have the problem. Difficult to get in touch with anyone at Nikon as they hide the service number. But they claim it is not covered! JUNK. They want $105 to fix a $100 camera. I'll buy another brand! July 23, 2010
Not worth the money 5 months after purchasing the camera the LCD screen failed. No longer able to view settings or picture (because there in no manual viewfinder) is frustrating. I only continue to use this camera in the most dire circumstances. July 23, 2010
Big Disappointment I was really excited about getting this camera. It came highly recommended to me where I purchased it at. And for the first few months it worked great. I got great pictures and had no issues with the camera. Then the honeymoon was over. It would randomly freeze during picture taking and I would have to take the battery out to turn it off, put it back in, and push the power button. THEN my pictures started turning out really fuzzy (think cell phone quality). I wasn't given much help either when I tried to get it fixed. It's too bad too because I've had this camera for a little over a year and it hasn't been touched in MONTHS! It just now sits and collects dust. I will never purchase another Nikon product. July 23, 2010
Disappointing Nikon product. If this had been my FIRST Nikon product, it would be my last. Because of my past experiences with Nikon I have been fiercely loyal to Nikon, and I was very excited to get this camera. Excitement turned to disappointment as I used it over the following months. Almost all indoor pictures have a strong, unnatractive deep yellow hue, outdoor pictures often end up blurry - no matter what setting is chosen. As a matter of fact, most of these neat 'settings' only make the picture worse - much worse. I have had to send the camera back once, and my friend has had to send her identical camera back TWICE! Even now, I continually have to reset the camera back to the factory settings to get any decent pictures. It will have to do for now, but (even though I've had this camera only for a little over a year) I am in the market for a new one. And it will NOT necessarily be a Nikon, this time. July 23, 2010
Not worth the money... My daughter's camera was purchased by me as a Christmas present. It lasted 6 months and then she got a lens error. Obviously it is pretty common since it is listed in the manual. It stated we needed to have it serviced by Nikon. I sent it in and they want $90+ to repair it. I bought it new for $129. Not worth it since it only lasted 6 months. I will never purchase another Nikon product. They do NOT stand behind their products. July 23, 2010
Page: 2 3 4
<<prev
25 Questions | 26 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
25 Questions | 26 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
2 Answers

Black screen?

Apr 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
United States
Has staff answer
-3points
0out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
My screen is black and takes black pictures. I can still look at old pictures that are saved to the device and see how much battery power etc, but it will not take pictures of anything but blackness. Is it taking pictures of a different dimension? :P What do I do to fix it?
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
United States
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you’re only able to see previous pictures and the screen stays blank when trying to take new ones, you will need to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 6, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Have you ever dropped it? You may have jarred the image sensor. Take it to a camera repair shop or ship it to Nikon.
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
JonathanB
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

my lens got stuck and shows up: lens error, what should I do?

Mar 20, 2011 by
by
jennvs
New York City
Has staff answer
+7points
9out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2
Serie: S220
3 years, 1 month ago
by
jennvs
New York City
Location : 
New York City
Age: 25-34
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see link below for troubleshooting:

Answer Title: Lens Error message
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

If the problem persist after troubleshooting, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation:

Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Why is my screen blank? How can I fix it?

May 7, 2011 by
by
Dave
Nashville, TN
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
When I turn on my camera my view screen is blank (or you might call it white). The camera still takes pictures but I can't view what I'm aiming at or see any menus. Both of my batteries are fully charged.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Dave
Nashville, TN
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to send your camera for service in order to be evaluated by one of our tech.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Blinking charging light

May 21, 2011 by
by
MBFL
MIami
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
when i charge my camers the charger light blinks, and my camera never fully charges. Connection? if not whats wrong with my camera?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
MBFL
MIami
Location : 
MIami
Age: 18-24
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try a backup battery. If the problem persists you will need to send the camera and the charger to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Lines on pictures?

May 23, 2011 by
by
lkregula
Kent, Ohio
Has staff answer
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
When I take a picture on my Coolpix s220, the image shows lines across it (line of picture, black line, line of picture, black line, repeating). What could have caused this and how do I fix it? The included picture shows a mild version of the problem.
 
Products related to my question
 
 
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
lkregula
Kent, Ohio
Location : 
Kent, Ohio
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send some sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

When trying to transfer pictures from my s220 I get a message that camera is in use. What am I doing wrong?

May 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have successfully downloaded pictures in the past. Please help.
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

how do you get out of movie mode

Jun 1, 2011 by
by
none of your buissness
none of your buissness
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
i put the camera on movie mode and i cannot figure out how to get out of it. how do you get out of movie mode and back to picture mode
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
none of your buissness
none of your buissness
Location : 
none of your buissness
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see page #8 pf the user's manual for the COOLPIX s220 for basic operations.
Answer Title: User's Manual - Coolpix S220/225 - Guide to Digital Photography
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Nikon Coolpix S220

Jun 3, 2011 by
by
Jane
Corfu
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
How do i get rid of ' Memory card is write protected 'Message when i turn camera on
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Jane
Corfu
Location : 
Corfu
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that the little switch to one side of the memory card is not in lock position.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Is there a driver for mac ?

Jun 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
I can't connect my S220 with my iMac or Macbook, driver issue ? Thanks for helping
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please install the latest version for View NX 2 in your computer that will allow you to download the photos.
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

why my pictures keep having a yellow tint to them

Jul 5, 2011 by
by
T
ELMIRA,NY
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
T
ELMIRA,NY
Location : 
ELMIRA,NY
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers