Loading

10.0 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches. Plenty of sharp resolution to capture the finest details, crop creatively and produce incredible enlargements.

New EXPEED Image Processor ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness. Nikon’s comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development. EXPEED is custom-tuned for COOLPIX and applies optimized technologies to render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you will not miss that special moment.

4-Way VR Image Stabilization:

  • Nikon’s Electronic VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake by adjusting shutter speed and ISO setting. This produces clearer, sharper results in lower lighting or unsteady conditions.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts the shutter speed and the ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement.
  • High ISO 2000 capability gives you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects. This creates new opportunities to take sharper, more natural-looking photos in lower light conditions.
  • Nikon’s original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and then saves the sharpest image.

Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene in your picture and adjusts the camera settings. Just set the camera to the Scene Auto Selector and the camera changes the settings according to the scene you are photographing, automatically.

3x Optical Zoom-NIKKOR Glass Lens. NIKKOR optics provide exceptional pictures and gets you close to the action. The lens is built on a proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that deliver superb color and razor-sharp results.

Add Color to Your World with five new incredible colors that have been finished in a stylish and sleek brushed-aluminum finish. The S220 is available in Plum, Graphite Black, Cobalt Blue, Aqua Green, Magenta and Warm Silver.

Incredible, Bright 2.5-inch High Resolution LCD makes it easy to compose and share your pictures. In addition, the high-contrast and anti-reflection coating on the screen assist in clear viewing, even in direct sunlight

Nikon’s Smart Portrait System

  • Smile Mode automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles. The camera will detect the subject's smile and will automatically fire the shutter.
  • With Nikon's Blink Proof the camera automatically takes two shots and saves the one in which the subject’s eyes are open.
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
  • Face-Priority AF is Nikon’s face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces in a group portrait.
  • D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.
COOLPIX S220 3 5 86 87
I have used it often and I'm happy with pictures As far as Compact Cameras go, I have had Fuji, Sony and now Nikon. I also have a Sony DSLR. My kids trashed my Sony Compact Camera, and I needed one for a Christmas party. (A big DSLR just doesn't cut it at a party). Fuji had the best picture, but I won't go back to them until use SDHC memory. That is the ONLY reason I didn't buy Fuji. Taking pictures from all 4 (including the DSLR) at the same resolution. DSLR - 10 Fuji - 8 Nikon - 7 Sony - 6 Hope this helps. July 23, 2010
This a a good, all purpose compact digital camera. I got this camera for my 13 year old daughter. She picked it up and just started using it and it has been great. I got a hard case for it but somehow, when it got packed into a duffel bag, the display got damaged. We called Nikon Customer service and they wanted over $80 to replace the display - plus shipping. We found a third party repair shop online and for $26, got a brand new display installed (including shipping). I like the camera but am not thrilled with Nikon customer service. July 19, 2010
Good camers, screen problems I've had two different cameras (this style). The first one I was careless with, always just kept it in my purse, and the screen cracked. I figured that was just my carelessness. I bought another one and kept this one in a protective case, left it out of the case once but it didn't crack then. Just the other day I pulled it out of my purse and opened the case to discover the screen cracked. I love the camera but the screen must be way to fragile, it was completely protected the second time it cracked. I'm sad because other than that it's a GREAT camera March 26, 2011
Great For Casual Users If you just use your camera for quick on the go situations, playing around, nothing serious, this is great! The quality is okay, but the screen doesn't do it justice, the quality looks better on a computer. If you are looking for something for serious photography or much clearer pictures, I'd say to keep looking! November 26, 2010
It's alright My boyfriend gave this to me for Christmas. So far it is a good camera. The only problem I have is the screen always looks grainy so I never know if the picture really turned out or not til I get home and put them on the computer. But so far has been very good at taking all my pictures. November 20, 2010
Great camera nikon took great care when i returned my camera for repairs (playback button stuck) got it back in good time and they stood behind their warranty much better than cannon which got knocked off a table and died ( lens broke).this camera has very good picture quality took tons of pictures of my dog and it tells me when i get in a bad angle and could give her red eyes ( i call them devil eyes. and allows me to delete it before it's saved. i have and will continue to recommend nikon products to others July 27, 2010
Was excited to buy this product because I have a D40 Nikon an it works awesome!! Well I thought I would stick to the same brand, but the picture settings and flash only sometimes work so... I took back to store to see if I could exchange for a new one turns out I needed to be schooled (I am not an amatuer photographer) just wanted a camera to carry with me in my purse to take snapshots.. Tried to explained to the guy at store that the settings were not correctly set but got no where...Left store (where I had already purchased ext. warranty for this reason) very upset would just like camera to operate like D40 standards because do like that one alot... July 25, 2010
ok I was SO excited to upgrade my camera. I love the size of this one. I've had it for about 10 months. Everything seems to work fine. My issue with the camera is that my screen is horrible. It always has been. It never fully focuses, so it looks like all my pictures are all a little blurred. My 7MP camera looked better on the screen than this one. So that is extremely irritating. Other than that it works great. Cross my fingers that it continues to work for me. Some of the other reviews have me worrying. July 24, 2010
Average camera. Good for the price. Print quality below average July 24, 2010
would be OK for some but not for me Screen is hard to see in bright sun. This camera is to small for my hands. I would be better off with one that is a little larger, like the same camera that uses AA batteries rather than the LI rechargeable. I dislike having to carry a battery charger with me and my old camera using AA batteries held a charge much longer. Should have done more homework before purchase. July 23, 2010
This produce is fair I got this camera for a gift last Christmas. I have another digital camera that is for professional reasons. Although my other camera has less megapixels it takes much clearer pictures than this Nikon. I like that it small and compact but it does not take the best quality pictures. Overall it is a nice camera and adequate. July 23, 2010
Camera is Good but needs an optical viewer to be able to shoot in direct sunlight. Download to computer when the camera is plugged in is VERY slow. July 23, 2010
great quality So I take a picture one morning and now it has a lense error and i can't close it. I HATE IT!!! other than that, great camera! now i have to get a new one. grr... July 19, 2010
Wow... I had this camera for 3 DAYS and took excellent care of it. I never dropped it and it was perfectly fine. I loved it, I took great photos with it but one day it just stopped working. AFTER 3 DAYS. January 5, 2012
As this camera ages, it gets worse. I've had this camera for a year. When I first got it, it was amazing! Everything was great, the quality, everything. But after a year, its falling apart. It doesn't take good pictures anymore. It won't focus on things. the flash is over powering when not needed and when needed its not bright enough. December 19, 2010
blurry pics I bought this camera on sale at a local retailer and thought it was a good deal. After using it for a bit I noticed that I had to delete a lot of my pictures since they would tend to be blurry. The black and white, sepia feature is nice to have. After a couple of months of use, I accidentally dropped the camera in its case. It was not a hard fall, yet the internal LCD screen cracked. Nothing happened to the exterior since it was in its case, but was disappointed at how fragile it was. It will cost almost as much to replace the part as to buy a new one. Do not plan to replace internal screen if this might happen again. Very fragile. August 5, 2010
Redesign Reengineer Replace The ideas and goal behind the 220S are quite noble, but the product simply fails in some important areas. Yellow blob - I have experienced a yellow cast on the left side of the LCD screen when taking video or still pictures. After I had the LCD screen replaced, I was shocked to see the yellow blob appear again on the left side of the screen indicating a problem somewhere else in the camera. Lens error - Once or twice, I have needed to turn the 220S on and off to coax the lens to close. From reading other reviews about the lens-closure problem, I believe this part needs to be redesigned. Durability - I had the camera in a soft case in my backpack. I pulled it out to take a picture and found that the LCD screen was broken. I sent it back to Nikon and paid over 75% of the original price for the camera to have the LCD screen repaired. While this damage was probably my fault as my pack was with other luggage in the back of the car when it was damaged, I believe the camera should be more forgiving. Make it more durable. I actually made two parasailing movies with the 220S taking care to keep the camera reasonably safe hanging at 1000 feet from my suspenders. I also took the 220S to photograph my sons tubing behind a powerboat. If one is taking pictures with the 220S in these conditions, it should be durable enough to survive the ride to school in the car. Outdoor use - The camera has no viewfinder to use outdoors. You cannot see the LCD screen to view your subject outdoors with this camera. As a teacher, I use this cameral often at school to photograph or video events and make presentations using presentation software. I used it successfully this summer to photo a section of a page out of a reference book in the college library for legal use. In all the 220S has the potential to be a superb camera. I use mine quite often and it usually works properly with the exception of the yellow blob. Address the picture quality, redesign the lens assembly mechanism, make it usable outdoors, and make the unit more durable. A sliding hard case might make the camera more forgiving and protect the LCD screen from breakage by external pressure. July 24, 2010
extremely low quality pictures this camera takes fairly good pictures outdoors and with sunlight, indoors is another story, the majority of the pictures are blurry or too yellowish,in my opinion i think that cheaper cameras can do what this camera does, i replaced it not so long ago. July 24, 2010
Disappointed I really loved this camera. It did everything I needed it too and took beautiful pictures. 1 week after the warranty ran out, the flash burned out. I called Nikon and was told it would be 120.00 to fix the product. That's how much I paid for the camera, so why would I not just go buy another one? I guess I expected my camera to last longer than a year. July 24, 2010
Not the best product Pictures are often unfocused, extremely hard to take a high res. photo with this. Runs slowly. I like the customizable greeting screen...that's about it. July 23, 2010
white balance I have had problems with indoor pictures and the white balance. none of the setting changes worked. thank goodness warranty as Nikon said it was not operating at factory standards and to send it back. I will not buy another small Nikon digital...though Best Buy had recommended this one. July 23, 2010
I have had this camera for a year. It is my third digital camera in two years. About two weeks ago the screen started to go a little wonky so I asked a tech and they told me to take it to get repaired. Well, I didn't take it in because I don't have the money for repairs on a digital camera. Today the screen started to shake and I can't tell what I'm focusing on. The pictures are apparently coming out though because when I load them to my computer they look fine. Looks like it's time for another digital camera. July 20, 2010
Ok Camera I got this camera last Christmas as my first camera and i wasn't very happy with it. First of all it doesn't have the best zoom, when your in sunlight it has these weird sparky dots that make your picture unclear. When you do a close up on a object it doesn't come up clear until 3 or 4 trys' of doing it. It was good with some motion pictures. July 11, 2010
Terrible This being my second nikon with the same exact problem I know no the problem was not myself! Do NOT buy any cool pix cameras! I have 3 other friends with different series and they all broke with in 3 to 6 months. Refund please! January 10, 2012
NOT A GREAT DEAL TO BUY THIS CAMERA Please dont buy this Product because this product life is tooo short, i have this product and i am facing one issue with this that camera lens did not came out.....camera is showing lens error...i have sent this camera to the service center and they are charging repair cost more than the camera value......................you can buy any other camera at the same cost.............................................My camera problem occurs in between when i am clicking photos............NOT A GREAT DEAL IF YOU ARE PLANNING TO BUY THIS CAMERA December 17, 2011
Makes me never want to buy a Nikon again! I purchased this camera a few yearsa ago in hopes to have something compact and works well in lowlight for concerts (i go to a lot!) This camera is so horrible..Out of 100's of pictures I will have very few that are even acceptable to show (or that I even want to look at#. Even though then, I was not very advanced in my photography, I knew how to take a decent picture and you will almost never get that with this. I have missed out on so many amazing pictures/memories because of this camera. Its ALWAYS blurry inside! Now that a few years have passed, I am looking for a an adcanced camera that works well in lowlight, takes multiple pictures at once and is good for motion #still because of concerts) and I have been reaserching Nikons for weeks and eaither this one works bad in lowlight, that one breaks easily, the one after that is slow...Nikon may promise a lot with their reviews but its with the customers reviews where you will find the real deal. December 14, 2011
Lens errors but easy to use Though at first I liked the slim look and easy-ish features of the camera, I thought the camera needed to be treated TOO delicately. Lens error was a very common problem, and each time I had to send it back (it's not a problem you can fix yourself) - and fixing it multiple times ended up costing more than the camera itself. I never dropped the camera or was rough with it - the lens error would just magically pop up - one time, just after i put it in my carry on suitcase after only 2 months of using it. August 29, 2011
bad software very time consuming and difficult to transfer and edit pictures.email impossible May 19, 2011
This is the worst camera I ever brought Got this as a gift, not the one I asked for, now I see why. It takes HORRIBLE PICTURES. As everyone else I thought Nikon, sold good cameras, I was terribly wrong. Good price, but u get what you pay for. May 12, 2011
Page: 2 3 4
<<prev | next>>
25 Questions | 26 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
25 Questions | 26 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
2 Answers

Black screen?

Apr 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
United States
Has staff answer
-3points
0out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
My screen is black and takes black pictures. I can still look at old pictures that are saved to the device and see how much battery power etc, but it will not take pictures of anything but blackness. Is it taking pictures of a different dimension? :P What do I do to fix it?
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
United States
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you’re only able to see previous pictures and the screen stays blank when trying to take new ones, you will need to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 6, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Have you ever dropped it? You may have jarred the image sensor. Take it to a camera repair shop or ship it to Nikon.
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
JonathanB
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

my lens got stuck and shows up: lens error, what should I do?

Mar 20, 2011 by
by
jennvs
New York City
Has staff answer
+7points
9out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2
Serie: S220
3 years ago
by
jennvs
New York City
Location : 
New York City
Age: 25-34
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see link below for troubleshooting:

Answer Title: Lens Error message
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

If the problem persist after troubleshooting, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation:

Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Why is my screen blank? How can I fix it?

May 7, 2011 by
by
Dave
Nashville, TN
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
When I turn on my camera my view screen is blank (or you might call it white). The camera still takes pictures but I can't view what I'm aiming at or see any menus. Both of my batteries are fully charged.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Dave
Nashville, TN
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to send your camera for service in order to be evaluated by one of our tech.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Blinking charging light

May 21, 2011 by
by
MBFL
MIami
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
when i charge my camers the charger light blinks, and my camera never fully charges. Connection? if not whats wrong with my camera?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
MBFL
MIami
Location : 
MIami
Age: 18-24
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try a backup battery. If the problem persists you will need to send the camera and the charger to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Lines on pictures?

May 23, 2011 by
by
lkregula
Kent, Ohio
Has staff answer
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
When I take a picture on my Coolpix s220, the image shows lines across it (line of picture, black line, line of picture, black line, repeating). What could have caused this and how do I fix it? The included picture shows a mild version of the problem.
 
Products related to my question
 
 
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
lkregula
Kent, Ohio
Location : 
Kent, Ohio
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send some sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

When trying to transfer pictures from my s220 I get a message that camera is in use. What am I doing wrong?

May 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have successfully downloaded pictures in the past. Please help.
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

how do you get out of movie mode

Jun 1, 2011 by
by
none of your buissness
none of your buissness
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
i put the camera on movie mode and i cannot figure out how to get out of it. how do you get out of movie mode and back to picture mode
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
none of your buissness
none of your buissness
Location : 
none of your buissness
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see page #8 pf the user's manual for the COOLPIX s220 for basic operations.
Answer Title: User's Manual - Coolpix S220/225 - Guide to Digital Photography
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Nikon Coolpix S220

Jun 3, 2011 by
by
Jane
Corfu
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
How do i get rid of ' Memory card is write protected 'Message when i turn camera on
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Jane
Corfu
Location : 
Corfu
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that the little switch to one side of the memory card is not in lock position.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Is there a driver for mac ?

Jun 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
I can't connect my S220 with my iMac or Macbook, driver issue ? Thanks for helping
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please install the latest version for View NX 2 in your computer that will allow you to download the photos.
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

why my pictures keep having a yellow tint to them

Jul 5, 2011 by
by
T
ELMIRA,NY
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
T
ELMIRA,NY
Location : 
ELMIRA,NY
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers