Loading
;

10.0 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches. Plenty of sharp resolution to capture the finest details, crop creatively and produce incredible enlargements.

New EXPEED Image Processor ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness. Nikon’s comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development. EXPEED is custom-tuned for COOLPIX and applies optimized technologies to render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you will not miss that special moment.

4-Way VR Image Stabilization:

  • Nikon’s Electronic VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake by adjusting shutter speed and ISO setting. This produces clearer, sharper results in lower lighting or unsteady conditions.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts the shutter speed and the ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement.
  • High ISO 2000 capability gives you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects. This creates new opportunities to take sharper, more natural-looking photos in lower light conditions.
  • Nikon’s original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and then saves the sharpest image.

Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene in your picture and adjusts the camera settings. Just set the camera to the Scene Auto Selector and the camera changes the settings according to the scene you are photographing, automatically.

3x Optical Zoom-NIKKOR Glass Lens. NIKKOR optics provide exceptional pictures and gets you close to the action. The lens is built on a proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that deliver superb color and razor-sharp results.

Add Color to Your World with five new incredible colors that have been finished in a stylish and sleek brushed-aluminum finish. The S220 is available in Plum, Graphite Black, Cobalt Blue, Aqua Green, Magenta and Warm Silver.

Incredible, Bright 2.5-inch High Resolution LCD makes it easy to compose and share your pictures. In addition, the high-contrast and anti-reflection coating on the screen assist in clear viewing, even in direct sunlight

Nikon’s Smart Portrait System

  • Smile Mode automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles. The camera will detect the subject's smile and will automatically fire the shutter.
  • With Nikon's Blink Proof the camera automatically takes two shots and saves the one in which the subject’s eyes are open.
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
  • Face-Priority AF is Nikon’s face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces in a group portrait.
  • D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.
COOLPIX S220 3 5 86 87
What I like An amazing camera for my needs. I photograph vacant land for business purposes. In the beginning I favored my Sony Mavica until it went blank on me. As a back up camera the shots it took were many times better, if not superior to the Sony. The clouds, skies, mountains, trees and land features were sharper, crisper and more enjoyable to view and very pleasing to my demands for my business. I applaud Nikon for an inexpensive camera. Now I want to see what their camcorders will do. January 21, 2011
GREAT! This camera has been all around great! I love it, got it about 4 months ago for my birthday and use it all the time. the pictures are wonderful, as well as the video. :) November 28, 2010
Very easy to use i love this camera great graphics easy to use just great all around. I LOOOOOOVVVVVEEEE IT.! October 6, 2010
it is an awesome camera for beginners this camera is really good. since it is my first camera therefore i used it in every possible way to check its capability. it performed well in all conditions and in all shooting modes and light conditions. September 10, 2010
I love it I love this camera! its like my best friend!! Its awesome for everything! all my friends are jealous! :p Its worls good ! love it! August 20, 2010
Excellent product The nikon S220 is the perfect pocket camera for travel. It fits in a shirt pocket or the carry case is great on your belt. I use the D80 while on vacation during the day visiting different ports of call on cruise ships but at night when I'm at dinner or just with friends it is great for those time when carrying the D80 is just not practical. The picture are great at 10MP and it has enough zoom to wide angle to cover what ever I need. It has never let me down, and the quality of the prints are great.The wide angle of the S220 was perfect for a shot of the entire side of a cruise ship August 8, 2010
Great camera, light... Great camera to carry with you at all times for those quick shots or for those great stills that you want to capture. Rich color, detail all great. Manual mode can get a little confusing to the uninitiated, but reading the manual helps! I have taken great pictures and actually been able to sell a few that were high quality. August 8, 2010
good I have used this, it is a nice camera for younger children to have if they like to take pictures and want a nicer camera and a thinner one too. August 2, 2010
awesome camera Bought this camera about a year ago, I am 100% happy with it, the pictures turn out great, and the zoom feature is awesome. I would reccomend this camera to anyone!! July 27, 2010
I am a novice with a computer & digital camera. My nephew recommended this camera to me & I am very happy with it. It is easy to use, compact enough to carry in your pocket & takes beautiful pictures which people comment on. I would recommend it to anyone. July 25, 2010
Great little camera! I wanted to upgrade my camera from a Kodak and decided to get a Nikon. I am not disappointed! I've had this camera for several months and have had no problems so far. I really like it's compactness. So easy to slip in my pocket! The controls are easy to use and the picture quality is really good for such a small camera. It also takes decent video. My favorite feature is the Panorama mode. So fun to use! I'd highly recommend this product! July 25, 2010
wonderful everywhere camera i have the coolpix s220 and i love it. it is small which makes travel great, but still offers a tripod dock for when i need it. i absolutely love the scene selector feature so whatever i am photographing there is a feature for it, i recently even tried the fireworks setting, which worked wonderfully! this is a great, reliable, and affordable camera everyone would enjoy and it is easy to use which makes it fun for the whole family. July 24, 2010
Great Vacation Camera I bought this camera for vacations because it is one of the most thin cameras available and fits very easily into my pants pocket. It has performed well. For the price, it has an excellent set of features. July 24, 2010
good features - easy to use bought the camera as one to carry with me all the time, I have a Nikon D40 - and I wanted one smaller - the S220 works great - pictures turn out great - my daughter also has one she had problems with the lens error but Nikon fixed it with no charge and fast service - was very satisfied with their response July 24, 2010
Absolutely love this camera I received this camera as a christmas present and use is all the time. I have had no bad issues with it at all. Love the small compact size to fit into a pocket or purse. Just pull it out and it is ready to go. Very easy computer download. July 23, 2010
My coolpix 220 is great I love the clear pictures and the rechargeable battery. It is also the easiest camera to down load the pictures and to the internet. July 23, 2010
I love the ease of the functions. Nikon is the only way to go and I wouldn't buy another brand. July 23, 2010
Great Camera Great compact digital camera, had it a year now and no complaints, takes awesome photos, easy to use and outstanding results, great for the pictorial hobbyist. I would recommend thoroughly reading the user guide as this camera has many features that you may not just stumble across and it helps to know what your camera is fully capable of!! Highly reccommend this Product July 23, 2010
excellent pocket camera This camera does exactly what it should. It takes great pictures, was low cost, and has been problem free for me. It is far better than 3 similar competitive products that I had that mal functioned shortly after warantees expired. July 23, 2010
Great second fun filled camera I have a Nikon DSLR that I use for a lot of my photography. When I go on an adventurous hike or camping I take my handy dandy S220. The picture are great for this type camera in its price range and you can take video that is worthy of uploading to places like facebook. GREAT PRODUCT! July 23, 2010
This product is amazing This camera is a very good buy. it has excelent features, quality and preformance. if you want a camera i would buy this one. July 23, 2010
Loved it!!! I have used this camera for a while now and loved it. It was my first camera ever and I would recommend it to beginners and children. This camera will last a while and take amazing pictures. I am looking for a new camera because I have lost mine I was devastated. September 4, 2012
Amazing! This camera was my first camera and I love it! It's amazing! The only thing is that sometimes if you dont put it on the right mode the pictures turn out blurry and creepy looking. But other than that this is great for hiking, weddings, trips, sport events and many other things... Not professional but it will work for a first camera. August 18, 2010
Not too bad A very good first time camera. It takes good pictures and is easy to use... August 9, 2010
Great pics. Great pricing. Fun to use. Bought this camera for a "purse camera" for the better half. Always seemed to be lacking a handy camera at just the right moment. This S220 solved that problem and how. So easy to use that even I take decent pics with the camera. Pictures are sharp and bright. Nice color. Easy to download to a printing device. Will consider this camera (and its successors) as a "first camera" gift for grandkids as they grow up. July 28, 2010
Fun to use This is my first digital camera. I enjoy the size and I carry it in my handbag all the time. The pix are clear. The camera is easy to use. My only complaint is that the screen is not easy to use in direct sunlight. I miss having a viewfinder at that time. In the sun, the screen is almost un-useable. July 25, 2010
Nice econo-camera I have had this camera for 9 months as a replacement for a Canon PowerShot A520 that lasted 5 yrs. Up to this date no issues with my Nikon. Similar pictures (quality) and features as other more expensive cameras. I take pictures every week. No complainsI just hope it outlasts my last Canon. I have "film" cameras more than 18 yrs old. I just wish digital cameras could last that long. Switched to Nikon because of my Canon failed. July 25, 2010
Great Camera! I have this camera and really like it. It takes great pics, and gives you alot of options for taking different kinds of pics and is easy to learn how to use. I think this camera would work for someone who is new to digital cameras or who is very tech saavy. I have never had a Nikon before, and they def make a great product. July 25, 2010
fun this is one of the best small cameras that i have owned . I love the simplicity of the menus , the size easily fits in a shirt pocket . most of all i love some of the special functions . My one complaint is that it should have a better optical zoom than 3,it would be nice to see a ten x optical zoom for the same price . July 23, 2010
Seems good But! It is still new, but one thing i find difficult is the zoom button. why couldn't they put a extension sticking out so one can turn it easier. it seems to work fine except i took only 10 pictures and it said the battery was depleted. I'm hoping after it is cycled a few times it's life will increase. nice camera but sure not designed for anyone with average to large hands, but that is not the camera's fault July 23, 2010
Page:2 3 4
<<prev | next>>
26 Questions | 27 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
26 Questions | 27 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
2 Answers

Black screen?

Apr 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
United States
Has staff answer
-3points
0out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
My screen is black and takes black pictures. I can still look at old pictures that are saved to the device and see how much battery power etc, but it will not take pictures of anything but blackness. Is it taking pictures of a different dimension? :P What do I do to fix it?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
United States
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you’re only able to see previous pictures and the screen stays blank when trying to take new ones, you will need to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 6, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Have you ever dropped it? You may have jarred the image sensor. Take it to a camera repair shop or ship it to Nikon.
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
JonathanB
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

my lens got stuck and shows up: lens error, what should I do?

Mar 20, 2011 by
by
jennvs
New York City
Has staff answer
+7points
9out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2
Serie: S220
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
jennvs
New York City
Location : 
New York City
Age: 25-34
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see link below for troubleshooting:

Answer Title: Lens Error message
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

If the problem persist after troubleshooting, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation:

Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Why is my screen blank? How can I fix it?

May 7, 2011 by
by
Dave
Nashville, TN
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
When I turn on my camera my view screen is blank (or you might call it white). The camera still takes pictures but I can't view what I'm aiming at or see any menus. Both of my batteries are fully charged.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Dave
Nashville, TN
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to send your camera for service in order to be evaluated by one of our tech.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Blinking charging light

May 21, 2011 by
by
MBFL
MIami
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
when i charge my camers the charger light blinks, and my camera never fully charges. Connection? if not whats wrong with my camera?
3 years ago
by
MBFL
MIami
Location : 
MIami
Age: 18-24
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try a backup battery. If the problem persists you will need to send the camera and the charger to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Lines on pictures?

May 23, 2011 by
by
lkregula
Kent, Ohio
Has staff answer
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
When I take a picture on my Coolpix s220, the image shows lines across it (line of picture, black line, line of picture, black line, repeating). What could have caused this and how do I fix it? The included picture shows a mild version of the problem.
 
Products related to my question
 
 
3 years ago
by
lkregula
Kent, Ohio
Location : 
Kent, Ohio
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send some sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

When trying to transfer pictures from my s220 I get a message that camera is in use. What am I doing wrong?

May 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have successfully downloaded pictures in the past. Please help.
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

how do you get out of movie mode

Jun 1, 2011 by
by
none of your buissness
none of your buissness
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
i put the camera on movie mode and i cannot figure out how to get out of it. how do you get out of movie mode and back to picture mode
3 years ago
by
none of your buissness
none of your buissness
Location : 
none of your buissness
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see page #8 pf the user's manual for the COOLPIX s220 for basic operations.
Answer Title: User's Manual - Coolpix S220/225 - Guide to Digital Photography
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Nikon Coolpix S220

Jun 3, 2011 by
by
Jane
Corfu
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
How do i get rid of ' Memory card is write protected 'Message when i turn camera on
3 years ago
by
Jane
Corfu
Location : 
Corfu
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that the little switch to one side of the memory card is not in lock position.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

Is there a driver for mac ?

Jun 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
I can't connect my S220 with my iMac or Macbook, driver issue ? Thanks for helping
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please install the latest version for View NX 2 in your computer that will allow you to download the photos.
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S220
 
1 answer

why my pictures keep having a yellow tint to them

Jul 5, 2011 by
by
T
ELMIRA,NY
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
T
ELMIRA,NY
Location : 
ELMIRA,NY
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers