Loading

10.0 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches. Plenty of sharp resolution to capture the finest details, crop creatively and produce incredible enlargements.

New EXPEED Image Processor ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness. Nikon's comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development. EXPEED is custom-tuned for COOLPIX and applies optimized technologies to render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you will not miss that special moment.

4-Way VR Image Stabilization:

  • Nikon's Electronic VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake by adjusting shutter speed and ISO setting This produces clearer, sharper results in lower lighting or unsteady conditions.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts the shutter speed and the ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement.
  • High ISO 2000 capability gives you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects. This creates new opportunities to take sharper, more natural-looking photos in lower light conditions.
  • Nikon's original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and then saves the sharpest image.

Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene in your picture and adjusts the camera settings. Just set the camera to the Scene Auto Selector and the camera changes the settings according to the scene you are photographing, automatically.

3x Optical Zoom-NIKKOR Glass Lens NIKKOR optics provide exceptional pictures and gets you close to the action. The lens is built on a proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that deliver superb color and razor-sharp results.

Add Color to Your World with five new incredible colors that have been finished with in a stylish and sleek brushed aluminum finish. The S230 will be available in; Plum, Jet Black, Night Blue, Gloss Red and Warm Silver.

Huge, Bright 3.0-inch High Resolution Touch Panel LCD enables easy access to all the camera controls without the conventional buttons to push. The anti-reflection coating that is applied to the Touch Panel enhances viewing even in bright light.

Nikon's Smart Portrait System:

  • Smile Mode automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles. The camera will detect the subject's smile and automatically fire the shutter.
  • With Nikon's Blink Proof the camera automatically takes two shots and saves the one in which the subject's eyes are open.
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
  • Face-Priority AF is Nikon's face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces in a group portrait.
  • D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.
COOLPIX S230 2.8 5 47 47
BLURRY Buy I had an older Nikon digital camera that took GREAT pictures. I decided to stick with the same brand and purchased this camera. The pictures are terribly blurry! I read online it helped to change the ISO settings, and I did. No help. DO NOT BUY THIS CAMERA. I am so disappointed. December 22, 2010
DONT BUY THIS CAMERA! I was not surprised to read so many bad reviews about this camera. I bought it less than a year ago and have been very unhappy with it. It takes horribly blurry pictures and would always turn off or freeze while i was reviewing pictures.I've tried all the different picture settings but they're all bad. i thought it might just be my camera but nowd i realize its all the s230. It is currently being serviced at Nikon for the touchscreen not working. I wish i would have bought a different Nikon camera....so save yourself the trouble.. December 10, 2010
Horrible! Do not buy! I am extremely disappointed. I got this camera for christmas and was very excited to have my first ever digital camera especially one with a touch screen. It is horrible. Every single picture that I take is blurry and has bad quality. I have talked to a couple other people that I know who have the same camera and they have the same problems too so I know that it isn't just my camera in particular. I have tried everything from changing settings, research, and rereading the manual. I am now looking into other cameras even though it has been less than a year. This is a terrible camera to buy and you shouldn't get it. December 1, 2010
Owner of many Nikon products but very disappointed My Nikon S230 was a present to my daughter as a high school senior. I'm very disappointed to say that it now has a "Lens Error" message on the screen at start up and won't take any pictures. I've read many, many blogs tonight on the camera issue being very common for Nikon CoolPix cameras. I thought Nikon was a much more reliable product than that. I saw my daughter use this camera just two days ago and it worked fine sand I've seen it on her bureau for two nights so I know it was not caried around and dropped. Read the blogs before you buy a CoolPix is my lesson learned. September 16, 2010
Wish bought another Cannon This is the worst camera I have owned. After years of buying Cannon I decided to change to Nikon. What a mistake. I had to send it back because the lens wouldn't retract and the latch that covers the battery keeps coming open. My pictures are hardly ever clear. It doen't matter what setting it's on. One person told me to set it to automatic. I tried that and my indoor pictures with low lights came out horrible. I tried adjusting it the various setting and nothing works. The only time they come out half way decent is if I am outside in the sun or up inside and I am close up to the subject. I wish I could trade this in for a Cannon. September 8, 2010
NOT WORTH THE MONEY I got the camera for christmas and it takes really bad pics and it fell about six inches from the floor and broke the screen. Of course since its a touch scree camera it no longer does anything cant upload to the computer or anything nothing nada zip zero big waist of my husbands money. August 7, 2010
Big disappoinment Bought the camera for my wife last Christmas. Never used until we went on vacation in July. After using it for 3 days, the lens could no longer focus. Was getting a "lens error". Of course I no longer have the receipt and cannot be returned without it. July 23, 2010
Horrible Camera The picture quality looks horrible. I have changed the settings many times just trying to get the pics to look decent and nothing helps. i would not recommend this camera for anyone. My phone camera takes better pictures than this camera. And the features are kind of lame. I would recommend a better Nikon. July 23, 2010
AWFUL Ashton Kutcher totally sold me on the nikon touch screens, but this camera is the worst I've ever bought. The nighttime settings are horrible, and I've already had lens issues twice that needed to be fixed by the manufacturer. the touch screen is cool, but the picture quality is grainy and horrible. I can't wait to get another camera- preferably a different brand. July 23, 2010
bummed. Got this for my birthday. After only a few months it stopped working. :( July 23, 2010
Worst camera ever bought. This camera has been a terrible disappointment for us. The pictures come out yellow. The touch screen is very unresponsive. We returned the first one we purchased last June because the camera didn't work right. The new one turned out to be just as bad. I have 2 other Nikons which are high quality cameras. We went back to Dodd camera in Fairview Park Ohio, and they said it would cost $20.00 to send it back to Nikon. I'm very disappointed in the camera. July 23, 2010
Horrible flash photos! Nikon is the best camera company in the world in my opinion. But why did they make such a terrible little snapshot camera as the Coolpic S230? Oh how I hate this thing! I can't get a decent flash photo out of this camera. I tried every INDOOR setting on the menu and it is very hard to get a shot that is not blurred. I am hoping I can take this back and exchange it for something else. Nikon finally came up with a Ver 1.1 Firmware upgrade which was to address some "low light" issues, and this camera even fails to upload the new version. I've been working on this problem all afternoon. Nikon tech support can't even offer me a solution to all this. If I am stuck with this S230, then I really got ripped off by Nikon. July 12, 2010
Page: 2 3
<<prev
22 Questions | 23 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
22 Questions | 23 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
2 Answers

does not power on has a solid red light stays on

Apr 30, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The Power on botton should not be red, if it is, my best guess is that there is a problem with the camera.
May 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Verify that the battery is inserted in the charger in the correct angle and also that the charger is not flickering. You may want to try a backup battery.
May 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

Want to download only new pictures to computer

May 5, 2011 by
by
Ellie
Minster, Ohio
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
How can I only download the newest pictures onto my computer? It takes forever to download them all then I have to select and delete the duplicates
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Ellie
Minster, Ohio
Location : 
Minster, Ohio
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Use Nikon Transfer to download, you can set it to only import new images. After you have saved your images format the card each tome you use it and that will save any future image duplications.
May 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

the lent of my camera got stock, what can I do to fix it?

May 20, 2011 by
by
Pri
Costa Rica
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Pri
Costa Rica
Location : 
Costa Rica
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for troubleshooting information:
Answer Title: Lens Error message
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

Lost Battery Charger

May 21, 2011 by
by
Gangsta69
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I lost the battery charger for my camera the Coolpix S203 (I couldn't find it in the products listed below, so I picked the closest in appearance) & I was wondering if there's anyway I could buy a new one (just the charger) or something?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Gangsta69
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The battery charger for this camera is the MH-63. You can find it available at our Nikon store:
http://shop.nikonusa.com/store/niko...
 
Products related to my answer
 
May 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

the screen stays whiteand the camera wont work. it turns on but stays white

May 29, 2011 by
by
gina
washington dc
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
gina
washington dc
Location : 
washington dc
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Verify that the battery is fully charge and just release the shutter. If the error persists, you will need to send your camera for service in order to be evaluated by one of our techs.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

The camera won't let me take a picture with the flash on, while a red light blinks.What should i do ?

Jun 9, 2011 by
by
lilpaulyd
navvare,Florida
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
lilpaulyd
navvare,Florida
Location : 
navvare,Florida
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please reset the camera since some scene modes cannot turn have the flash on. Tab MENU > SETUP > RESET ALL.
Jun 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

The view in my lens looks infared and when I take a picture its distored...Why?

Jun 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
see pictures.i bought a replacement screen but its still doing the same thing.what else could be the problem?
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
tammy
wyandotte mi
Location : 
wyandotte mi
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see page # 133 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX s230 for information about monitor settings.
If the problem persists you will need to send the camera and the charger to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jul 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

Tried to turn mine on and in came on and immediately turned off. Battery is charged. What might be the problem?

Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Matt
United States
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Matt
United States
Location : 
United States
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please reset the camera to default settings: Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All
Try a backup battery. If the problem persists you will need to send the camera and the charger to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Aug 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

My pictures aren't saving to SD card. Takes picture but not saving. Any suggestions?

Aug 7, 2011 by
by
AJ
KY
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
AJ
KY
Location : 
KY
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that the memory card contacts are clean, try a different card. Also, that the memory card is inserted correctly and format the card using the camera.
Menu > Setup > Format Card.
Aug 8, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers