Loading
;

10.0 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches. Plenty of sharp resolution to capture the finest details, crop creatively and produce incredible enlargements.

New EXPEED Image Processor ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness. Nikon's comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development. EXPEED is custom-tuned for COOLPIX and applies optimized technologies to render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you will not miss that special moment.

4-Way VR Image Stabilization:

  • Nikon's Electronic VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake by adjusting shutter speed and ISO setting This produces clearer, sharper results in lower lighting or unsteady conditions.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts the shutter speed and the ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement.
  • High ISO 2000 capability gives you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects. This creates new opportunities to take sharper, more natural-looking photos in lower light conditions.
  • Nikon's original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and then saves the sharpest image.

Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene in your picture and adjusts the camera settings. Just set the camera to the Scene Auto Selector and the camera changes the settings according to the scene you are photographing, automatically.

3x Optical Zoom-NIKKOR Glass Lens NIKKOR optics provide exceptional pictures and gets you close to the action. The lens is built on a proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that deliver superb color and razor-sharp results.

Add Color to Your World with five new incredible colors that have been finished with in a stylish and sleek brushed aluminum finish. The S230 will be available in; Plum, Jet Black, Night Blue, Gloss Red and Warm Silver.

Huge, Bright 3.0-inch High Resolution Touch Panel LCD enables easy access to all the camera controls without the conventional buttons to push. The anti-reflection coating that is applied to the Touch Panel enhances viewing even in bright light.

Nikon's Smart Portrait System:

  • Smile Mode automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles. The camera will detect the subject's smile and automatically fire the shutter.
  • With Nikon's Blink Proof the camera automatically takes two shots and saves the one in which the subject's eyes are open.
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
  • Face-Priority AF is Nikon's face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces in a group portrait.
  • D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.
COOLPIX S230 2.8 5 47 47
Great overall camera!!! I agree with one of the other reviews about the indoor/low lighting flash issues, but overall, I took some great pics! The zoom on this thing was able to focus on a bald eagle on its perch that was pretty far away and high on a ledge. To the person that wrote a review that this is the WORSE camera...by a DSLR if you your THAT unhappy!!! July 23, 2010
This camera is a continuation of the s220 This camera is a little more complicated to use in comparison to the s220. It's the same exact camera with a touch screen panel attached to it, a different menu set up and a couple of new features such as photo editing. It has all the same features, I can't tell any difference if there is any. Pictures are shape and crystal clear with proper scene selection auto being the best, it's great for projects, and capturing unforgettable moments which make you say WOW i took that. Some pictures, especially scenic look as if they have been take by a professional. This is my second nikon camera, my other got stolen but I am happy with my new selection. July 23, 2010
Easy to use I hestitantly bought a pocket sized camera due to the limitattions they had, until I read a PC World review of this camera. I then read a lot of other online reviews and then found it on sale. I am very happy with the features it offers, especially the easy to use touch screen and maybe even more the the vibration reduction feature. I have yet to really take any bad pictures with it. Highly recommend this littel beauty and high kudos to Nikon for their high quality products. July 23, 2010
Great camera for starting and advancing I am constantly amazed at the quality of this little gem! This is my 2nd digital point & shoot; originally used the 3100. I can't imagine how much more advanced features can get in point & shoot models! If you are new to digital photography, this is a great item to start with. The price is about what you'd expect for a starter point & shoot. The results, and ease of use, are beyond my expectations. I should have known better because it's a Nikon - it should be the best! July 23, 2010
Great scene selections! This is a good camera. You will not be let down. It's easy to use. Has great options like firework's scene, it takes awesome pics of fireworksand light. Touch screen is very responsive. Buy it!!!! July 23, 2010
It is my wifes camera and she finds it easy to use It takes great pictures on the fly and never fails. We especially like the finger touch controls. July 23, 2010
It's great because i love almost everything about! I love the way you can zoom real far. I love my nikon s230 because it is touch screen and it has many great features that you will love. July 23, 2010
Excellent Entry-level Point-And-Shoot Camera I received this camera for Christmas about 6 or 7 years ago. It was my first ever digital camera. I love it. It still works great now, I've never had to replace the battery. I have taken over 11,000 pictures with it, so the lens I can assure you is sturdy, and it works! It was a great camera for me to get my nose in to the field of Photography. I am a filmmaker, so I started making movies with this camera as well. The only downside to it is that even though the touch screen is cool. I once had it in my pocket while riding to work, and the screen must have twisted, and cracked the screen. So the touch on most of the screen still works, but the menu button I can't hit, so I can't change white balance, it's now a very basic point-and-shoot camera. Overall, I love it a lot. My family is a Nikon Family, and we love them. I couldn't have been happier with this camera. The case is full metal, so it's very sturdy and solid. December 4, 2013
Overall a very nice product! Recieved Nikon S230 Gloss Red as a birthday gift from boyfriend back in 09. Before that owned a Samsung camera and unhappy with limited features and had lighting problems eventhough the camera was easy to work. Love my Nikon S230 for its features etc. Owned the camera for about a year and four months now and only have a slight problem-the pictures don't always come out crisp in quality but still managable and happy with it. Not only is it a good camera for the above reason but it comes along as a memory for my signifficant other and I as it was his first gift to me. Recently now, it was last used Christmas holiday of 2010 and in good condition, two weeks later i take it out to upload pictures to computer, finding screen cracked due to being banged around in my purse, as i assume. Called up Nikon manufacturer right away and the representatives were very helpful. Sent my camera to them for price estimate and i think i am going to fix it instead of buying a new one because one, it didn't pass the value of the camera but also because out of my experience with it, it gave me very few problems. I do recommend this digitial camera to anyone, young or old, but it probably leans to those of a younger generations. If you do not consider purchasing the S230 model, I strongly suggest taking another Nikon model into perspective and strong consideration. January 15, 2011
autoflash My camera works great as long as I don't use the flash. The autoflash quit working after eight months, Am in the process of trying to figure out why. Missed quite a few pictures because of this October 29, 2010
This product has many great features for the price Had a few problems learning how to set the camera to take really good pictures. Customer service was great. August 3, 2010
Nice camera with good features and pics This is a very nice camera and takes great pics and video as well. It looks good on the pc or on a TV. Very compact and has a nice colorful screen. July 28, 2010
This product was good foe me. I have good luck with this one. Should have got a 12x5 zoom. That would have been a little better. This will still work for me for now. My get a 12+ someday. July 25, 2010
Great product for close-ups I love this camera and bought 3 besides my own for gifts. However, there is one thing I do not like. The optical zoom is only 3x and although the camera lets you zoom in from a far distance, pictures that are taken from far away come out blurry. Pictures of nearby subjects are crystal clear. For example: I went to a graduation at St. Johns University. The pictures that I took of the stage from the seat I was sitting in all came blurry. The pictures I took of the graduate up close came beautiful. July 23, 2010
Great Little Travel Camera I bought my S230 last year before going on an overseas assignment as I did not have space to carry along my D300 and lenses. I've not been disappointed with it given its cost and features. Likes: build quality, lens quality, ease of use, size, view screen. Niggles: Uses battery up quickly when taking flash pictures (I bought a second battery to carry with me and solve that problem). Touch screen not as responsive as it could be, especially when viewing pictures. Zoom lens range not that great (but what can I expect for the price and size). July 23, 2010
Good Overall I love my Nikon s230. It has great quality and produces great pictures. I love the big touchscreen and the slim style. I've had many cameras and I think Nikon is the best. This camera is great for fast good pictures. I wish the indoor settings were better but that's it. Great camera. July 14, 2010
Nice featuers, picture quality is not great This camera has nice features and is easy to use however the picture quality compared to other camers in the same price range is not great. Outdoor pictures look washed out and do not have deep clear colors. I sent it in to repair a broken flash and asked them to make adjustments if necessary but the picture quality is still the same. July 26, 2010
okay but breaks easily I loved this camera until the touchscreen just stopped responding in the middle of taking pictures. The camera is less than a year old. I had another coolpix and upgraded to this one. I won't be buying another touchscreen one. March 21, 2011
Not impressed..actually really disappointed I purchased this camera earlier this year and have not had the best luck with it so far. I have had many enjoyable moments since purchasing, that I attempted to capture with this camera and not only was it slow, but it did not capture many of these important moments clearly. I have so many pictures that I am sad to say, came out really blurry. I have used the different modes and settings that the camera offers and yet, I still end up with blurry unrecognizable pictures. This is my first Nikon and I regret to say that it may be my last. I was a true fan of another brand of camera when I decided to move over to Nikon to experience what I thought would be an overall better performance camera. However, I believe I was mistaken. October 4, 2010
Don't buy this camera. I can't get a decent flash photo out of this camera. The pictures quality is grainy and horrible. I have changed the settings many times just trying to get the pictures to look decent and nothing helps most of my night pictures are blurred. July 27, 2010
i bought this camera becuz of the commercials with aston it looked like a great camera the touchscreen doesnt work consistantly most of my night pics are blurred & the settings are not user friendly & hard to operate all of the hi-tech options. July 24, 2010
DON'T BUY THIS CAMERA!! It worked fine and was a good camera for about 2 months. After that I would charge the battery and put it in and "BATTERY DEPLETED" would show up on the screen. Um, no I JUST CHARGED IT!! So I ended up buying a new battery. THEN the lens started to flip out on me. I'd turn it on, the lens would come out, go back in, come out, go back in, etc. 4 or 5 times then say "LENS ERROR". I called Nikon and they told me how to trouble shoot it by taking out the battery and SD card, charging the battery for a full 24 hours then putting it back in. This worked once. Then the "lens error" kept happening intermittently. The camera is fine when it works, but it's bi-polar. I hate it. I thought Nikon's were supposed to be good cameras but this is a piece of garbage. I do NOT recommend it to ANYONE. July 23, 2010
Not great for action shots This camera is great if you have lightening and are taking still photos. Not good if you use the flash and action shots. July 23, 2010
Pictures are grainy. Its sad that I have to take a picture 4-5 times just to try and get one that looks normal. The pictures come out grainy despite a steady hand and normal focus. The pictures are grainy in all lighting and different environments. It is very frustrating. My phone takes better pictures. Finally, the picture size when saved to my computer are VERY large. DO NOT BUY. SAVE YOUR MONEY!! November 20, 2011
Poor Picture Quality on S230 I am a diehard Nikon user. I have a D200 DSLR and I really wanted a nice point and shoot to compliment my DSLR. And to have to use in not so nice conditions and not have to worry about it so much. Well the S230 has been a terrible disappointment. As a picture junkie, I have been SAD to load my photos and see how bad they are. It has ruined my memories of my most recent trips. I looked to see if maybe Nikon had provided some firmware updates to improve the quality but it hasn't. Pictures are blurry, and foggy in all lighting conditions and lack sharpness. Just awful!! May 28, 2011
Very disappointed I was very excited to own a Nikon touch screen camera, bought with my very own first paycheck. Grossly disappointed. I thought it was just my camera but it seems otherwise. Blurry pictures, orbs blurring pictures clicked at night in the dark, camera freezing while you go through the pics, Next time I buy I definitely will not go for Nikon. Attached a worst case pic April 27, 2011
This is the WORST camera I have SEEN!!!!!!! We have owned this camera for a little over a year, I bought it for My wife as a Christmas presant and it was the worst thing I could have waisted My 175 Dollars on. From the day We owned it MOST of the pictures are BLURRY, We were told to try different setting - This did NOT work and besides that if I have to change a setting every time I would rather have a DEPENDABLE CAMERA that will take QUALITY PICS all THE TIME. After LOSING OUT ON GETTING IMPORTANT PICTURES OF WEDDING, BAPTISM and MY Grand CHILD I WILL NEVER BUY from this COMPANY(NIKON) AGAIN. My ADVICE IS STAY A WAY and DONT WAIST YOURE MONEY ON THIS PIECE OF GARBAGE!!!! February 12, 2011
Blurry pictures i got this camera as a gift from my mum for finishing my high-school. This was my first camera. I was confused when all the pictures came out blur in the camera, but appeared to be better when uploaded into the computer. I switched the ISO, but it doesn't help in low light areas. Are there any other ways to improve the quality?? I think i can get another better camera with the same price.. P.S. My mum should've brought me to the shop!! January 22, 2011
Flash not working I received this camera as a christmas gift in 2009 and it was okay for the first couple months. Then it started taking blurred pictures and the little red flash light blinks all the time. So I can not take any pictures with the flash on. I read that it needed a new battery so I bought a new battery no change. I had a Cannon Powershot before it was a little bigger so I'm back to that. January 12, 2011
Do Not Buy This is hands down the worst camera i've had. I can't take any pictures at night or indoors without them turning out blurry and yellowish in color. The only good pics this camera takes are outdoors with natural sunlight. The delay is so slow i've missed so many good moments that could have been captured. January 3, 2011
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
22 Questions | 23 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
22 Questions | 23 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
2 Answers

does not power on has a solid red light stays on

Apr 30, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The Power on botton should not be red, if it is, my best guess is that there is a problem with the camera.
May 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Verify that the battery is inserted in the charger in the correct angle and also that the charger is not flickering. You may want to try a backup battery.
May 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

Want to download only new pictures to computer

May 5, 2011 by
by
Ellie
Minster, Ohio
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
How can I only download the newest pictures onto my computer? It takes forever to download them all then I have to select and delete the duplicates
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Ellie
Minster, Ohio
Location : 
Minster, Ohio
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Use Nikon Transfer to download, you can set it to only import new images. After you have saved your images format the card each tome you use it and that will save any future image duplications.
May 5, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

the lent of my camera got stock, what can I do to fix it?

May 20, 2011 by
by
Pri
Costa Rica
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Pri
Costa Rica
Location : 
Costa Rica
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for troubleshooting information:
Answer Title: Lens Error message
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

Lost Battery Charger

May 21, 2011 by
by
Gangsta69
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I lost the battery charger for my camera the Coolpix S203 (I couldn't find it in the products listed below, so I picked the closest in appearance) & I was wondering if there's anyway I could buy a new one (just the charger) or something?
3 years ago
by
Gangsta69
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The battery charger for this camera is the MH-63. You can find it available at our Nikon store:
http://shop.nikonusa.com/store/niko...
 
Products related to my answer
 
May 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

the screen stays whiteand the camera wont work. it turns on but stays white

May 29, 2011 by
by
gina
washington dc
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
gina
washington dc
Location : 
washington dc
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Verify that the battery is fully charge and just release the shutter. If the error persists, you will need to send your camera for service in order to be evaluated by one of our techs.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

The camera won't let me take a picture with the flash on, while a red light blinks.What should i do ?

Jun 9, 2011 by
by
lilpaulyd
navvare,Florida
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
lilpaulyd
navvare,Florida
Location : 
navvare,Florida
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please reset the camera since some scene modes cannot turn have the flash on. Tab MENU > SETUP > RESET ALL.
Jun 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

The view in my lens looks infared and when I take a picture its distored...Why?

Jun 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
see pictures.i bought a replacement screen but its still doing the same thing.what else could be the problem?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
tammy
wyandotte mi
Location : 
wyandotte mi
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see page # 133 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX s230 for information about monitor settings.
If the problem persists you will need to send the camera and the charger to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jul 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

Tried to turn mine on and in came on and immediately turned off. Battery is charged. What might be the problem?

Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Matt
United States
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Matt
United States
Location : 
United States
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please reset the camera to default settings: Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All
Try a backup battery. If the problem persists you will need to send the camera and the charger to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Aug 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S230
 
1 answer

My pictures aren't saving to SD card. Takes picture but not saving. Any suggestions?

Aug 7, 2011 by
by
AJ
KY
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
AJ
KY
Location : 
KY
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that the memory card contacts are clean, try a different card. Also, that the memory card is inserted correctly and format the card using the camera.
Menu > Setup > Format Card.
Aug 8, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers